Cox names first panel with 28 players in for Garvey camp

New Irish coach Alexander Cox has named an extensive 28-player squad as the World Cup comes into focus for the men’s side following the women’s heroics in London.

For the Dutchman, his side will convene for the first time together since he took on the role on September 10 and 11 with Lisnagarvey the host venue.

Ireland are currently on a month’s break before ramping up preparations in September. Pic: Adrian Boehm

It follows a scheduled month’s break from activity since the Real Four Nations in Dusseldorf in July as they begin their preparations for Bhubaneswar, India in late November.

In terms of players, there is no place this time around for Cork man Julian Dale – two weeks into a stint with Royal Daring in Belgium – Owen Magee and Neal Glassey.

Three Rock Rovers’ Ben Walker missed most of the summer programme but is available now following the conclusion of his Leaving Certificate.

Cox says his first training panel is “a big number” but says he is looking at it as an “opportunity to have a good insight of the depth of the Green Machine”.

It is a cosmopolitan line-up with seven Belgium-based players and three each in the Netherlands, Germany and England.

Their currently confirmed World Cup challenge matches will see the play in a Four Nations tournament in Valencia against the Netherlands, Spain and Argentina in late October before flying out to India.

There, they will open their campaign against world number one Australia on November 30 before facing outsiders China and then England.

Like the women’s competition, top spot sees them straight through to the quarter-finals while second or third ensures a crossover tie.

Ireland men’s squad for training camp (September 10/11): Jonathan Bell (Lisnagarvey), Matthew Bell (HTC Crefeld, Germany), Christopher Cargo (Hamstead & Westminster, England), Jamie Carr (GK, Three Rock Rovers), Peter Caruth (Annadale), Lee Cole (Oree, Belgium), Stephen Cole (Oree, Belgium), Mitch Darling (Three Rock Rovers), Jeremy Duncan (Herakles, Belgium), David Fitzgerald (GK, Monkstown), Paul Gleghorne (HTC Crefeld, Germany), David Harte (GK, SV Kampong, Netherlands), Conor Harte (Racing Club de Bruxelles, Belgium), Mark Ingram (GK, HC Rotterdam, Netherlands), John Jackson (Bath Buccaneers, England), Stuart Loughrey (Reading, England), Luke Madeley (Three Rock Rovers), Eugene Magee (Banbridge), John McKee (Banbridge), Sean Murray (HC Rotterdam, Netherlands), Matthew Nelson (Lisnagarvey), Shane O’Donoghue (KHC Dragons, Belgium), Callum Robson (Annadale), Michael Robson (HTC Crefeld, Germany), Alan Sothern (La Gantoise, Belgium), Kirk Shimmins (KHC Dragons, Belgium), Ben Walker (Three Rock Rovers), Daragh Walsh (Three Rock Rovers)

Partners of The Hook