Four potential debutants in men’s first ties since Rio

Jamie Wright, Keith O’Hare, Matthew Nelson and Julian Dale have an early chance to stake a claim for inclusion in Craig Fulton’s ongoing Irish plans with their inclusion in the panel to travel to Terrassa, Spain for a two-game series next week.

They form part of a young squad of 20 players named for the first international games for the men since the Olympic Games with just five of the Rio 19 involved.

Keith O'Hare is in line to make his international debut. Pic: Adrian Boehm

Keith O’Hare is in line to make his international debut. Pic: Adrian Boehm

As such, David Harte, Jonny Bell, Michael Watt, Michael Robson and Paul Gleghorne provide the experience to guide the squad.

The above quartet have all yet to be capped for the senior side but are joined by a large number of players who have less than 10 caps to their name. Indeed, just Matthew Bell, Drew Carlisle and Stu Loughrey have top level tournament experience under their belt.

Meanwhile, three players have been added to Jonny Caren’s Irish Under-21 training panel for the European Junior Championships in Valencia, August 2017.

Daniel Nelson joins his younger brother in this squad along with Alexander Tinney and Ben Walker who took part in last weekend’s interpros. They join the panel initially named for a six nations tournament in October which Ireland subsequently withdrew from.

Speaking about the panel, Caren said: “Now that the main competitions for underage players in Ireland are over, it is now time to launch the Irish Under-21 programme in preparation towards the European Championships in August.
“I am extremely excited to work with this very talented group of players and seeing how they develop over this next year towards representing their country at the Europeans and hopefully towards becoming future senior internationals working towards Tokyo 2020 and beyond.”

** To see the full Irish Under-21 squad, click here

Senior internaitonla fixture schedule:

November 29: Ireland vs Spain, 4.30pm (CET), Atlètic Terrassa
December 1: Ireland vs Spain, 12pm (CET), Club Egara

Ireland for Terrassa trip from November 29 to January 1: Jonny Bell (Lisnagarvey), Matthew Bell (Banbridge), Lee Cole (Monkstown), Stuart Loughrey (Hampstead & Westminster), Paul Gleghorne (Lisnagarvey), Keith O`Hare (Pembroke), Jamie Wright (Banbridge), Drew Carlisle (Banbridge), Neal Glassey (Lisnagarvey), Michael Robson (Annadale), Sean Murray (Lisnagarvey), Luke Chadwick (Voordaan), Michael Watt (Hampstead & Westminster), Johnny McKee (Banbridge), Mathew Nelson (Lisnagarvey), Julian Dale (Cork C of I), Owen Magee (Banbridge), Jeremy Duncan (UCD), David Harte (Kampong), Jamie Carr (Three Rock Rovers)

Non-travelling Reserves: Sam O’Connor (Glennane), Luke Madeley (Three Rock Rovers), Mark Ingram (Pembroke), James Lorimer (Lisnagarvey)

Partners of The Hook