Railway II continue winning ways; TRL stun Muckross in women’s Irish Hockey Trophy

Women’s Leinster Division Two
Railway Union II moved up to a share of second place with their fourth win in succession as they got the better of Loreto II 4-1 with Nina Heisterkamp and Nikita Telford scoring twice each.

They started the better and scored their first goal from the second phase of a penalty corner before Telford tapped in from close range for number two. Telford scored her second of the day making it 3-0 after Railway stole the ball in Loreto’s defensive 25. She hammered the ball home from a tight angle.

Sarah Evans had a chance to get one back before half-time with a good effort but Railway’s goalie Rachel Barnett made a good save to maintain the gap.

Loreto came out fighting in the second half but could not convert their chances. Ciara Vincent went close with a nice piece of skill on the baseline but could only see her chance pushed away by Barnett for a long corner.

Railway got their fourth goal of the game when they stole the ball in Loreto’s defensive half and counter attacked at pace with Heisterkamp finishing off a good team move.

Loreto won a few more corners but couldn’t put them away but finally got a goal on the final whistle after captain Phoebe Lyons won a corner and Anne Marie Byrne put away a well worked move.

TRL's Angharad Griffiths holds off Muckross's Sophie Barnwell Pic: Emma Hogan

TRL’s Angharad Griffiths holds off Muckross’s Sophie Barnwell Pic: Emma Hogan

Rachel O’Reilly’s penalty corner goal, off a corner switch move on the stroke of half-time, helped put Pembroke II nine points clear of the pack with their 11th win of the campaign, seeing off UCD II 1-0.

In a Monday evening back match, Loreto II got the better of Genesis 3-2 with Aideen McGuinness scoring twice with Phoebe Lyons also on the mark. Elaine Ross, meanwhile, scored the only goal at Rathgar beat Hermes II 1-0.

Women’s Leinster Division Two
: Railway Union II 4 (N Heisterkamp 2, N Telford 2) Loreto II 1 (A-M Byrne); Pembroke II 1 (R O’Reilly) UCD II 0
Monday: Genesis 2 (A Henry, L Barrie) Loreto II 3 (A McGuinness 2, Phoebe Lyons); Hermes II 0 Rathgar 1 (E Ross)

Irish Hockey Trophy, third round
Three Rock Ladies scored the biggest surprise of round three of the women’s Irish Hockey Trophy when they got the better of division two’s high-flyers Muckross at Grange Road on Saturday evening.

They took the lead via Anita Brouwer’s drag-flick early in the tie as Three Rock started well with an aggressive press against a side from a division above them. Muckross steadied the ship and their pace down the right, with Lucianne White to the fore, started to create a number of chances.

The Donnybrook side got level by half-time via White and then went ahead early in the second half through Rachel Dillon as they looked to take control. But Steph Baxter nipped in between a couple of tackles from a long corner before shooting home from a narrow angle to tie things up once more.

Both sides had their chances to win the tie in a wide open close to the game. It eventually went to extra-time and penalties where Barbara Snow saved twice to prevail 4-2.

Their reward for their efforts is a home tie against Larne in the last eight of the competition after they eliminated Rathgar 2-1 on the north east coast.

Our Lady’s are another division three side to make it through as Karla Kennedy scored the only goal in a 1-0 win over Belvedere in Templeogue.

Naas and Genesis are the other Leinster league sides left in the competition after their third round tie was frozen off on Saturday morning. Kilkenny, from the south east leagues, beat Omagh 3-2 on home turf with Sinead Connery and Caitriona Carey on the mark. They play Cork C of I next.

Round Two: Armagh 1 Ashton 0
Round Three: Naas v Genesis, match postponed; Larne 2 (L Snoddy, Z Purdy) Rathgar 1 (L Binions); Galway 1 (K Codyre) Ballymena 1 (K Young), Galway win 5-3; Kilkenny 3 (S Connery 2, C Carey) Omagh 2; Our Lady’s 1 (K Kennedy) Belvedere 0; Cork C of I 3 (L Egan 3) Monkstown 0; Three Rock Ladies 2 (A Brouwer, S Baxter) Muckross 2 (L White, R Dillon), TRL win 4-2 on penalties
Quarter-final draw (March 7): Galway vs Bandon/Armagh; Kilkenny vs Cork C of I; Naas/Genesis vs Our Lady’s; Three Rock Ladies vs Larne

Women's Leinster Senior Div 2