Fantastic Foxrock annex Junior Cup title

Leinster Schoolgirls Junior Cup final
Lisa Kelly’s double saw Loreto Foxrock land the Leinster Schoolgirls Junior Cup title in superb style as they saw off Mount Anville 3-0 at Belfield.

Kelly finished off an excellent team move at the back post 18 minutes in to get the ball rolling, finishing off Eve Reidy’s cross following a superb through ball from key midfielder Christina Hamill.

The Loreto Foxrock side that won the Leinster Junior Cup title

The Loreto Foxrock side that won the Leinster Junior Cup title

With just one in the difference, Mount Anville had a couple of chances on the counter-attack with Natasha Twomey and Aisling O’Brien going close.

The latter saw their best effort brilliantly saved by Jane Conway-Kenny but, in truth, the Goatstown side were living off scraps in the face of a well-drilled opposition who attacked with pace and accuracy.

Mount Anville kept out a series of penalty corners in the first half with the brave running out shutting down a couple of penalty corner drag-flicks from Hannah McLoughlin – one of which saw Ailbhe Kenny taking a nasty blow to the arm.

It kept the scoreline at 1-0 at the break but Foxrock carried their momentum through to the second period. Early on, Kelly nabbed her second with an excellent high deflection from Foxrock’s fourth penalty corner early in the second half for 2-0 t effectively kill off the tie.

Hannah McLoughlin duly added a low drag-flick for the third, rounding off an impressive performance from Siobhan Keogh’s side, ably supported by UCD star Sarah Greene.

Loreto Foxrock: J Conway-Kenny, D Shaffrey, O Golden, A Lanigan, H McLoughlin, J Naughton, C Hamill, S O’Brien, C O’Sullivan, E Reidy, L Kelly, E Langan, C Sheeran, E Dawson, T May, E Fogarty
Coach: Siobhan Keogh
Asst Coach: Sarah Greene

Mount Anville: K O’Hogan, N McDonald, E Mulcahy, I McGovern, Katherine McDonald, I McCrory, Li Mulcahy, N Twomey, S Murphy, I O’Grady, K Lyttle, H Power, A Kenny, C De Courcy, C Sandford, S Cotter, A O’Brien, N Gowing
Coach: Jean McDonnell
Asst Coach: Maeve McCarthy

Umpires: G Hohn, F Davitt

School Girls Premier Section A