Five-star Muckross land big win as five Leinster sides progress in IJC

Women’s Leinster Division Two: Muckross 5 (Lucianne White 3, Jane Gilsenan, Sophie Barnwell) Three Rock Ladies 0
Lucianne White’s hat trick powered Muckross to a third win of the division two campaign and lift them up to third and clear of their rivals for the top first team placing.

After a slow start to the game with Muckross and Three Rock both creating some half chances, but neither keeper being called into serious action, the hosts got the breakthrough after 30 minutes when White got the slightest of touches on a cross and the ball dribbled over the line.

Muckross then got the second half off to a blistering start, adding two goals in the first five minutes. The first came from White, again following a well-worked quick free. Her side’s third came from an exquisite deflection by Jane Gilsenan which sent the ball to the top corner. White nabbed her third to complete her hat-trick and Sophie Barnwell got on the score-sheet to secure a crucial win in the race for promotion.

Three Rock will hope to bounce back on Monday evening when they meet UCD II at Belfield at 8.15pm.

Electric Ireland Women’s Irish Junior Cup, first round:
Reigning champions Pembroke II picked up a great away win over Randalstown as Elaine Thompson’s double put them on course for a 4-2 win to start their title defence in style.

They were one of five Leinster sides to advance and join Loreto and Genesis in the second round draw. Trinity II were another to come home from Ulster with a result as Jessica Kingston and Evie McCullough scored in a fine away performance.

A strong Hermes II side used their cup experience to great effect as 2009 Irish Senior Cup winners Rosie Carrigan, Fiona Bradish and Caitriona McGilp were on the mark in an 8-3 win over Glenanne II. Similarly, Jeamie Deacon played a role in UCD’s 8-0 win over Ashton, scoring a hat trick with Caroline Hill scoring a couple, too.

However, a number of Leinster’s second teams bowed out of the Irish Junior Cup at the first phase. 2011 champions Railway Union were undone by Emma Dobson’s solo goal for UCC while Old Alex also did not enjoy their trip to Cork as C of I saw them off 2-0. Corinthian II saw off Banbridge.

First round results: Ulster Elks 2 (S Galbraith, J McMaster) Cork Harlequins 3 (K McMaster 2, N O’Donnell); UCC 1 (E Dobson) Railway Union 0; Cork C of I 2 (C Walsh, L Buttimer) Old Alex 0; UCD 8 (J Deacon 3, C Hill 2. M Delahunt, L Ridgeway, H Rankin) Ashton 0; Glenanne 3 Hermes 8 (F Bradish 3, R Carrigan 2, E Casey, C McGilp, L Pinder); Lurgan 0 Trinity 2 (J Kingston, E McCullough); Pegasus 3 (A Compton, Campbell, Paul) Greenfields 0; Randalstown 2 (R Quinn 2) Pembroke 4 (E Thompson 2, S McCready, K Codyre); Armagh 2 (J Wilson, H McKeeman) Portadown 6 (R Tedford 2, S Hill 2, S Gibson, A Reid); Corinthian 1 (K Crotty) Banbridge 0; Belfast Harlequins 2 Lisnagarvey 1

Women's Leinster Senior Div 2