Six young blues return for second interpro bid

Six Leinster players are back for a second Under-16 girls’ interpros as Sarah Scott hopes to lead the blue province to glory, hoping to win the title back after a year hiatus.

Cross and Passion’s Miah Phelan leads the team having played a part for the Old Alex first team last weekend in their opening division one win against Hermes.

Leinster's U-16s will hope to win back the interpro title from Ulster Pic: Adrian Boehm

Leinster’s U-16s will hope to win back the interpro title from Ulster Pic: Adrian Boehm

She is joined in the panel by Avoca duo Amber Barnwell and Ellen Curran while Holy Child Killiney’s Emma Mathews and Abbie Russell along with Suzanne Kelly are all back for a second season.

Four Alexandra College students are in the squad while there are five from Mount Anville.

Loreto Wexford’s Sarah O’Connor, meanwhile, will captain the South East’s U-16s at the tournament which runs from October 18 to 20 in Garryduff, switched from Galway after a second pitch was not able to be secured with the tournament now extended to a three-day event.

Squads for the Interprovincial series, October 18-20, Garryduff, Cork
Leinster Under-16s:
Laura Page (Mt. Sackville/Railway Union), Nora McDonald (Mt Anville/Mt Anville), Amber Barnwell (Rathdown/Avoca), Emma Canning (The High School/Corithian), Claudia Cotter (Mt Anville/Muckross), Ellen Curran (vice-capt, Loreto, Foxrock/Avoca), Isabelle Delamar (Alexandra College/Suttonians), Katherine Egan (Alexandra College/Old Alex), Suzanne Kelly (Mt Anville/Mt Anville), Freya McDermott (Alexandra College/Old Alex), Emma Mattews (vice-capt, Holy Child Killiney/Muckross), Ruby Neville (St Gerard’s/Railway Union), Miah Phelan (captain, Cross & Passion/Old Alex), Katie Ronan (Mt Anville/Muckross), Sophie Roopsniransingh (Alexandra College/Old Alex), Abbie Russell (Holy Child Killiney/Old Alex), Sarah Torrans (Loreto, St Stephen’s Green/Corithian), Sophie Twomey (Mt Anville/Mt Anville)

South East: Eva Walpole (Presentation/Kilkenny), Yasmin Pratt (Kilkenny College/Carlow), Aoife Booth (Ursuline Thurles), Julie Quinn (Kilkenny College), Brona Dowling (Ursuline Thurles/Carlow), Anna Flood (FCJ Bunclody/Enniscorthy), Susan Osborne (vice-captain, Ursuline Thurles), Sarah O’Connor (captain, Loreto Wexford/Wexford), Charlotte Huston (Loreto Kilkenny/Kilkenny), Elizabeth Doyle (Loreto Wexford/Wexford), Sara Browne (Loreto Kilkenny/Kilkenny), Ciara Brennan (Loreto Kilkenny/Kilkenny), Niamh McMullan (Loreto Kilkenny/Kilkenny), Sophie Thomas (Loreto Kilkenny/Kilkenny), Emma Young (Loreto Kilkenny/Kilkenny), Jane Hogg (Kilkenny College), Grace O’Donnell (Loreto Kilkenny/Kilkenny), Roisin Case (Kilkenny College/Carlow)

Partners of The Hook