Five alive for Scott’s U-16s in retention bid

A symmetrical link guides Sarah Scott’s Leinster U-16 side as they look to go back-to-back in the interprovincial competition for the first time since 1996.

Scott is back in situ for the competition, which takes place on October 20 and 21 in Grange Road, with the same support staff of manager Deirdre Mathews and assistant coach Ian Clarke as they look to follow up last year’s victory in the competition, ending a six year wait.

Last year, five players were back for a second year in the panel to guide the win and that same number remain from last year’s vintage. Five will also be eligible to play in the 2013 edition of the competition following the announcement of this year’s squad.

Alannah Carragher will once again don the pads while her High School/Corinthian team mate Saoirse O’Donoghue – younger sister of Irish international Shane – is also back for a second year.

Alex livewire Louise McCollum and vice-captains Miah Phelan and Elena Tice return too with the latter bringing a wealth of international experience. She was an ever-present in the Irish U-16s European campaign while she also holds the record of youngest Irish women’s cricket international and second youngest worldwide.

As last year, Phelan is the sole non-South Dublin player included in the panel, hailing from Cross and Passion, Kilcullen. The squad is also a good indication of the work being done at Avoca at youth level with three of their number included in the selection, namely captain Rachel Boyce, Ellen Curran and Amber Barnwell.

Leinster U-16 girls squad: Alannah Carragher (GK, High School/Corinthian; Orla Minogue (GK, Loreto Dalkey/Pembroke), Emma Mathews (Holy Child Killiney/Muckross), Rachel Boyce (capt, Loreto Foxrock/Avoca), Miah Phelan (Cross and Passion, Kilcullen/Old Alex), Ailish Long (High School/Corinthian), Saoirse O’Donoghue (High School/Corinthian), Amber Barnwell (Rathdown/Avoca), Louise McCollum (Alexandra College/Old Alex), Tara Junghenn (St Killian’s/Pembroke), Ellen Curran (Loreto Foxrock/Avoca), Pia Diepman (Alexandra College/Old Alex), Sarah O’Loughlin (St Gerards), Sally Campbell (St Andrew’s College/Old Alex), Georgina Spillane (Mount Anville/Railway Union), Suzanne Kelly (Mount Anville/Mount Anville HC), Elena Tice (St Gerards), Lucie Wolfe (Alexandra College/Old Alex)

Manager: Deirdre Mathews
Coach: Sarah Scott
Assistant Coach: Ian Clarke
Physio: Roisin Byrne

Partners of The Hook