LHA name U-21 Interpro coaches

The Leinster Hockey Association has confirmed Rory O’Donoghue as the men’s U-21 interprovincial coach while Chris Tyrell and Keith Crawford will take on the women’s reins.

O’Donoghue continues his partnership with manager Peter Chadwick which has also led the U-18 boys to the interpro title this season while UCD have put in some eye-catching performances in division one under their tenure.

Tyrell and Crawford worked together last year with the Leinster Junior side who claimed gold in their competition last spring as well as bringing then division four outfit Trinity seconds to the Irish Junior semi-finals and their league crown. They are joined on the management ticket by Michelle Heming as manager.

The tournament will be battled out with Munster and Ulster with the Irish U-18s taking part in the men’s competition while Connacht are in the women’s version.

After a two-year haitus – last won by Leinster’s men in 2010 (pictured) – the tournament will be played in Munster over the Easter weekend and the respective management teams are inviting all clubs to nominate players for each squad.

Players must be under 21 on January 1, 2012, therefore birth dates of 1991 or younger. As there is a very limited opportunity for trials, clubs are requested to only nominate players who have a realistic prospect of making a Leinster team and who the nominating club has confirmed as available to travel to Cork for the tournament over the Easter Weekend.

If clubs have players who qualify but who are not available for the tournament but the club considers that the player should be viewed for Irish Under-21 trials then these players should be nominated by means of a separate list, clearly marked as “Not available at Easter but needs to be considered for Ireland”.

** Players selected to play in the tournament will be requested to contribute to costs. Forward your nominations to leinsterhockey@gmail.com with a Subject Under 21 Women  Nominations or Under 21 Men Nominations.

Partners of The Hook