Borland names new-look Leinster U-16 side

Gareth Borland has named a Leinster U-16 side packed with experience from the recent All-Ireland school’s championships for the upcoming interprovincial series which will be played in St Andrew’s on November 18 to 20.

Just four of last year’s panel remain with captain and vice-captain Luke Madeley and Jack Ryan among the returnees along with goalkeeper Hugh Lavery and St Andrew’s David Nolan. Madeley played in the centre of defence for Wesley at the school’s event while Ryan was one of three to line out for Sutton Park along with impressive defender Gavin O’Brien and lively front runner Keith O’Hare.

There are a half-dozen from Three Rock Rovers in the panel, St Columba’s Freddie Morris and Newpark’s Jonny McCormack also at the tournament in Cork while there are five from St Andrew’s – David Nolan back for a second campaign – as they enjoy playing on home turf.

He was part of an experienced side that managed to win the U-16 crown last term, a third success in four years at this grade. Glenanne’s Neil Byrne is the one player from a non-hockey playing school, coming from St Colmcilles in Knocklyon where Irish international Aine Connery is a teacher.

Borland and Geoff Walker maintain their coaching partnership while Rob Abbott has managed the build-up to the tournament with former Leinster senior manager Ronan Walsh helping out during the competition itself.

Meanwhile, on the girl’s side, 14 Leinster players have gone forward for trials for the Irish U-18s while there are 11 from the U-16 selection who won the interprovincials recently.

Leinster U-16 boys: Hugh Lavery (GK, Sandford Park/Pembroke), Leo Micklem (GK, Wesley/YMCA), Luke Madeley (Capt, Wesley/TRR), Gavin O’Brien (Sutton Park/Suttonians), Ben McCrea (Wesley/TRR), Jazze Henry (St Andrews/Monkstown), Isaac Agnew (St Andrews/Avoca), Aaron Bailey (St Andrews/Monkstown), Scott Dagg (Wesley/TRR), Jordan Larmour (St Andrews), Jack Ryan (vice-capt, Sutton Park/Suttonians), Jonny McCormack (Newpark/TRR), Freddie Morris (St Columba’s/TRR), David Nolan (St Andrews/Monkstown), Keith O’Hare (Sutton Park/Suttonians), Andrew Ramsey (Newpark/Avoca), Darragh Walsh (Wesley/TRR), Neil Byrne (St Colmcilles/Glenanne)

Coach: Gareth Borland
Manager: Rob Abbott/Ronan Walsh
Assistant Coach: Geoff Walker
GK coach: Stephen O’Keeffe

Irish U-18 girls trialists from Leinster: Carolyn Crampton (GK, Wesley College/Old Alex), Claire Foley (St Gerards), Emma Russell (Holy Child Kiliney/Old Alex), Hannah McDermott (Alexandra College/Old Alex), Jenny Long (High School/Corinthian), Jessica McGirr (Loreto Beaufort/Loreto), Kate Lloyd (Loreto Dalkey/Railway Union), Laura Gray (St Andrews/Old Alex), Millie O’Donnell (Alexandra College/Old Alex), Molly Lamb (Loreto Foxrock/Railway Union), Orla Macken (Rathdown/Railway Union), Sarah Evans (Rathdown/Loreto), Sarah Hawkshaw (Mount Sackville/Railway Union), Juliet Beatty (Alexandra College/Old Alex)

Irish U-16 girls trialists from Leinster: Rhona Conway Kenny (GK, Loreto Foxrock/Hermes), Rachel Gray (Alexandra College/Old Alex), Amber Gleeson (Alexandra College/Old Alex), Jenna Volpert (Hermes), Elena Tice (St Gerards), Bryony Biggam (St Gerards), Louise Gilmore (St Gerards), Anna Roopnarinesingh (Alexandra College/Old Alex), Sara Quill (Wesley/Corinthian), Ailbhe Marsh (Mt Anville/Corinthian), Philippa Cotter (Mt Anville/Muckross)

Partners of The Hook