Nolan’s extra-time goal takes it for Andrew’s Minors

Minor Cup final: St Andrew’s 1 (David Nolan) Sutton Park 0, after extra-time
David Nolan’s extra-time strike was all that separated St Andrew’s and Sutton Park in their Leinster Schoolboy’s Minor Cup final, the curtain-raiser for the senior final.

He jinked past two defenders before flicking goalwards with a slight deflection subsequently eluding the impressive goalkeeper Jack Scott. It handed the Saints their fourth title at this level but it was a dogged battle against an emerging Sutton Park outfit.

Andrew’s were left to rue a spate of missed penalty corner opportunities while the pace of Aodan Fee and Keith O’Hare’s all-round game meant Sutton had their chances.

But, powered by the likes of Ziggy Agnew, Jack Ryan and Nolan, Andrew’s had the edge in possession and chances and eventually sprung their winner.

St Andrew’s: J Carr, J Bailey, Z Agnew, B Arrowsmith, G Fearon, J Henry, D Nolan, A Bailey, A Fogarty, J Ryan, G Cole, H Temperley, S Hohn, S Gibbons, C Sinnamon, J Wiley
Sutton Park: J Scott, G O’Brien, D Confrey, W Eickholt, D Holmes, S Osborne, K O’Hare, P Meighan, B Pheifer, A Fee, R O’Hanlon, D Maloney, J Burns, C Walsh, D White, R Conlon-Dooley

Partners of The Hook