Borland names fresh-faced Leinster U-16 panel

Gareth Borland’s Leinster U-16 boy’s will have a new look about them at next week’s interprovincials, to be held in Newpark, as just four players are available for a second year with the panel.

It is a well-prepared selection, though, following a more regular training regime during the summer months.

They will be hoping to win their third title in four years after relinquishing the crown to Ulster in 2009 and they complete their warm-up on Sunday with an intriguing challenge match against the Irish senior women’s selection at Belfield (6pm).

Goalkeeper Shane Bourke, from St Killians, retains his place as one of the two net-minders while Lee Cole and Ben Campbell – both from St Andrew’s – are also back for another year.

George Dagg became Sandford Park’s first representative for over five years when he received a call-up last year and he is the fourth to retain his place and is joined in the panel by school-mate Hugh Lavery.

Brian O’Malley is the one player to come from a non-hockey playing school, learning his trade with Glenanne. Brian attends Castleknock Community College, combining his hockey with hurling for St Brigid’s on the Navan Road.

Mark Bergin and Jack Ryan were two members of the Sutton Park side that claimed the school’s first ever A-league title a couple of years ago at U-14 level, though the latter has since switched to St Andrew’s College.

The Booterstown school supplies eight of this year’s panel while there is also a significant Wesley College and St Killians presence while Pembroke provide seven player’s club coaching.

Due to injuries and fitness issues, the Leinster U-18 boy’s management team, however, are not in a position to announce the final squad until after a training session next Sunday.

Leinster U-16 boys: Mark Bergin (Sutton Park/Pembroke), Shane Bourke (St Killians/YMCA), Gavin Browne (St Andrew’s/Monkstown), Ben Campbell (St Andrew’s/YMCA), Lee Cole (St Andrew’s/Monkstown), George Dagg (Sandford Park/Pembroke), Jonathon Dalrymple (Wesley College/Three Rock Rovers), Cillian Hynes (St Andrew’s/Pembroke), David Kane (St Killians/Pembroke), Hugh Lavery (Sandford Park/Pembroke), Mark Loughrey (St Andrew’s/Pembroke), Luke Madeley (Wesley College/Three Rock Rovers), Kevin Mullins (Mount Temple/Clontarf), David Nolan (St Andrew’s/Monkstown), Brian O’Malley (Castleknock Community College/Glenanne), Jack Ryan (St Andrew’s/Pembroke), Dylan Shirley (Wesley College/Three Rock Rovers), Alex Serviss (St Andrew’s/Pembroke)
Named Reserves: Harry Morris (St Columba’s/Three Rock Rovers), John Cummins (Newpark Comprehensive/Monkstown)

Partners of The Hook