Blues U-18s name final interpro selection

Following a delayed announcement due to a number of injury concerns, the Leinster U-18 squad was released today for the upcoming interprovincials which are set to be played in Newpark from Friday, November 19 to 21.

Four of the summer’s Ireland U-18 players who won the Home Nations title are still eligible, Three Rock’s Tom Samuel, Shane Madeley and David McCrea along with Railway Union goalkeeper Mark Ingram making up an experienced core.

They are among eight returnees from last season’s blues though injury to Alan White and Mark Ryan among others meant the number might have been more.

The newcomers are mainly derived from last summer’s Irish U-16 panel with Newpark home favourite Stefan Gallagher, Ross Canning, Jeremy Duncan, David Cole and Kirk Shimmins moving up a grade.

Suttonians first teamer Harry Spain is a fresh face as is Newpark’s Johnny Byrnes following some excellent form for the school in the All-Ireland qualifiers.

Leinster U-18 selection: Mark Ingram (GK, Railway Union/Oatlands), Stefan Gallagher (GK, Avoca/Newpark), David McCrea (TRR/Wesley), David Cole (Monkstown/St Andrews), Harry Spain (Suttonians/Sutton Park), Robbie Burke (Corinthian/Wesley), Robbie Clarke (Corinthian/Wesley), Fiachra Maher (Railway Union/St Andrews), Tom Samuel (TRR/Wesley), Stephen Nolan (Monkstown/St Andrews), Kirk Shimmins (Pembroke/Wesley), Jeffrey Spillane (Railway Union/Blackrock College), Jeremy Duncan (Railway Union/Kilkenny), David Watkins (Monkstown/St Andrews), Ross Canning (TRR/St Columbas), Johnny Byrnes (Monkstown/Newpark), Andrew Malcolm (Corinthian/Wesley), Shane Madeley (TRR/Wesley)

Partners of The Hook