Youthful juniors ready for Interpro defence

Leinster’s junior men begin their campaign to retain the interprovincial title this afternoon when they face a heavily Campbellians-influenced Ulster side.

Nigel Kingston’s blues panel draws heavily from Kilkenny and Navan with both sides providing four players to the party. Beyond that, the squad has a youthful look with Glenanne and St Mark’s pair Karl Crosbie and Rhys Coleman called up while St Andrew’s midfielder Michael Styles will be hoping to add to a midweek Senior school’s cup medal.

Trinity pair Benjamin Epstein and Stephen Willis are both freshers for the student club.
Sunday will prove the critical day with fixtures against Connacht and Munster. The southern province features Railway pair Mervyn McDowell – formerly of Trinity and Raphoe, too – and Mark Egner

On the women’s side, Leinster return to the competition after a year out and go in search of their first title since 2006.

They bring plenty of know-how to the table with Old Alex duo Una Budd and Michelle Heming leading the way. Monkstown ladies hockey club have their first Leinster representative honour since reforming in 2008 with former Trinity woman Fiodhna Burke called into the side while North Kildare have the biggest representation.

Sally Cory, Liz Hassett, Sarah O’Neill, Joanna O’Reilly and Shelley Spillane make up their quintet for their challenge this weekend. They begin against Ulster this morning before facing South East this afternoon. Connacht and Munster are the opponents tomorrow.

Leinster Junior Men: Karl Crobsie (GK, Glenanne), Michael Styles (Pembroke), Rhys Coleman (Glenanne), Benjamin Epstein (Dublin University), Jack Kavanagh (Kilkenny), Stuart Bradley (Kilkenny), John Lazenby (Kilkenny), Peter Haughton (Avoca), Ben Wallace (Kilkenny), Adam Lee (YMCA), David Wilson (Pembroke), Shane Dooley (capt, Navan), Dan Ryan (Dublin University), Stephen Willis (Dublin University), Ru Clarke (Navan), Emmet O’Mordha (GK, Navan), Eamon Lynskey (Navan)
Coach: Nigel Kingston
Manager: Ian Wilkie

Men’s Irish Junior Interpros, Harlequin Park, Cork: Ulster vs Connacht (9.30am); Munster vs Connacht (12.30pm); Leinster vs Ulster (3pm). Sunday: Leinster vs Connacht (10am); Munster vs Ulster (11.30am); Munster vs Leinster (3pm).

Leinster Junior Women: Bairbre Luke (GK, Old Alex), Lisa O’Rourke (Pembroke), Una Budd (Old Alex), Fiodhna Burke (Monkstown), Sarah Butler (Corinthian), Karen Clarke (Railway Union), Sally Cory (North Kildare), Jeananne Fennelly (Muckross), Liz Hassett (North Kildare), Michelle Heming (capt, Old Alex), Catherine Lawson (Suttonians), Anne Marie McKeogh (Pembroke), Louise Kennedy (Glenanne), Sarah O’Neill (North Kildare), Anna O’Neill (Pembroke), Joanna O’Reilly (North Kildare), Laura Pomphrett (Loreto), Shelley Spillane (North Kildare)
Coach: Nick Moy
Managers: Sarah Williams/Karen Eppel

ESB Women’s Irish Junior Interpros, Garryduff, Cork: Munster vs Connacht (9am); Ulster vs Leinster (10.30am); South East vs Connacht (12pm); Munster vs Ulster (3.30pm); Leinster vs South East (5pm). Sunday: Ulster vs Connacht (8.30am); Munster vs South East (10am); Connacht vs Leinster (11.30am); South East vs Ulster (2.45pm); Munster vs Leinster (4.15pm).

Partners of The Hook