Malone names Irish U-18 training panel

Richard Malone has reduced his Irish U-18 panel down to 28 players for the upcoming year with the Irish U-18 girls, with six Leinster players getting the nod for the 2009/10 season.

Speaking of the selection, head coach Malone said: “I’m delighted with the final squad chosen it brings to an end a very tough and rigorous selections processes where by we have gathered together the cream of Irish talent.

“Since it’s a non European year, it affords us an opportunity to look at players in greater depth. In having a large training squad it means competition across all positions will be high, there by allowing us to create a unique training environment.”

Deirdre Duke retains her place in the squad while Emily Beatty, Lisa McCarthy and Aisling Naughton move up from the Irish U-16 selection with Holy Faith, Clontarf goalkeeper Rachel Barnett up for one of the spots between the posts. Railway sharp-shooter Patricia O’Dwyer is also included.

The highlight of the year for this group will be a four-nations tournament in Cork in July. Due to senior international and exam commitments, some players were not considered for selection.

Irish U-18 girls panel:
Leah Ewart (Armagh/Royal School Armagh); Jenna Holmes (GK, Randalstown/Carrick Grammar); Kerri McDonald (Lurgan/Banbridge Academy); Joanne Orr (Armagh/Royal School Armagh); Natalie Barr (Lurgan/Lurgan College); Hannah Clarke (Pegasus/Belfast Royal Academy); SammyJo Greer (GK, Ballymoney/Coleraine High); Vanessa Surgenor (Randalstown/Ballyclare High); Rachel Barnett (GK, Railway Union/ Holy Faith, Clontarf); Emily Beatty (Old Alex/Alexandra College); Lisa McCarthy (Railway Union/Mount Anville); Aisling Naughton (Corinthian/Mount Anville); Deirdre Duke (Hermes/Alexandra College); Patricia O’Dwyer (Railway Union/Loreto Beaufort); Amy Kate Trevor (C of I/Scoil Mhuire); Nicole Laarhoven (Almeerse); Naomi Carroll Catholic Institute/St Patricks, Shannon); Rebecca Barry (Catholic Institute/Laurel Hill); Yvonne O’Byrne (Harlequins/Mount Mercy); Louise Fahy (Galway/Yeats College); Freddie Timmins (Salerno/Galway); Dora Gorman (Greenfields/Talyors Hill); Michelle Carey (Galway/Colaiste Iognaid); Tara Melvin (Galway/Colaiste Iognaid); Lynsey Trainor (Galway/Colaiste Iognaid); Katie Codyre (Greenfields/Colaiste Iognaid); Hilary Griffin (Wexford/St Leos, Carlow); Jean Devoy (Wexford/Loreto, Wexford)

Partners of The Hook