Leinster senior squad named

The 18-player Leinster side named this morning by the team’s brain-trust of Noel Keogh, Colin Stewart, Arul Anthoni and Ronan Walsh shows nine changes from the interpro winning side of 2008.

Monkstown’s Dave Fitzgerald and Corinthian’s Chris Pelow are the two debutants, the former coming in ahead of Steven Doran, who himself was a late call-up in place of Charlie Henderson.

The international contingent were not involved due to the OQT, meaning Stephen Butler, Ronan Gormley, Phelie Maguire, Tim Lewis and Graham Shaw are back involved. Peter Blakeney and Alan Giles, meanwhile, were away last time around and not available for selection.

Skipper Alan Browne and Gordon Elliott’s inclusion last year provoked a lot of comment but they miss out this time, as do Brendan Parsons and Gary Shaw. The squad has a slight worry over the health of Neil Lyons who fell ill ahead of Rovers’ match with Banbridge.

Meanwhile, Munster include three Leinster-based players – Rover’s Patrick Shanahan and Pembroke’s Harte brothers Conor and David. Ulster, meanwhile, have named Corkonian Jason Lynch in their side for the tournament which gets underway next Friday evening.

Leinster Senior Mens Squad:
Iain Walker (YMCA), David Fitzgerald (Monkstown), Peter Blakeney (Three Rock Rovers), Joe Brennan (Glenanne), Stephen Butler (Joint Captain)(Glenanne), Mitch Darling (Three Rock Rovers), Alan Giles (Pembroke Wanderers), Ronan Gormley (Pembroke Wanderers), Tim Lewis (Pembroke Wanderers), Neil Lyons (Three Rock Rovers), Phelie Maguire (Three Rock Rovers), Andy McConnell (Joint Captain) (Three Rock Rovers), Chris Pelow (Corinthian), David Robinson (YMCA), Richie Shaw (Glenanne), Graham Shaw (Glenanne), Alan Sothern (Pembroke Wanderers), Gareth Watkins (Monkstown)

Coaches: Noel Keogh, Colin Stewart
Assistant Coach: Arul Anthoni
Manager: Ronan Walsh

* For more information on the tournament, click here

Partners of The Hook