Denham names U-21 squad

Niall Denham has named an eye-opening Leinster U-21 squad for this weekend’s interprovincial tournament, to be held at Grange Road.

YMCA’s Australian-born drag-flicker Jacob Webber – who arrived in Dublin earlier this season – has made his mark with a number of goals in the Leinster senior league. He gets the nod along with German striker Carl Eggert (pictured), who has plied his trade with Corinthian and Wesley College for the last couple of years.

Ten of last year’s squad remains. Leinster senior players Richie Shaw and David Robinson retain their places as expected while Ross Murray, Ronan Motyer, Chris Pelow, Geoff Walker, Tim Hill, Karl Smith, Andrew Ward and Richie Pedreschi all come back for another year with the side.

St Andrew’s student Stuart Loughrey is not included this time around while YM’s Shane O’Donnell joins his sister Hayley up at Grange Road this weekend after she was named in the ladies U-21 side last week.

Leinster U-21 squad:
Christopher Pelow, Carl Eggert, Brian Doherty, Ross Murray (all Corinthian), Emmet Hughes (Fingal), Jonathon Kane (Glenanne), Nick Dee, Andrew Ward (both Monkstown), Tim Hill (TRR), Karl Smith, Ronan Motyer, Stephen O’Keefe (all UCD), Richard Pedreschi, David Robinson, Shane O’Donnell, Jacob Webber, Geoff Walker (all YMCA), Richie Shaw (Glenanne, captain)
Coach: Niall Denham
Manager: Alec Barrett

*For more information on the U-21 interpros, click here for the men and here for the women’s competition.

Partners of The Hook