Railway and Avoca conjure up nine goals each in men’s Div One

Just two games in men’s Leinster Division One contrived to produce 23 goals as Railway Union and Avoca both scored nine times on Saturday.

Railway’s was an incredible 9-5 victory over Kilkenny at Teresians. They fell behind 1-0 but got back to 2-2 at quarter-time, then led 5-2 at half-time.

It was 6-3 at the three-quarter break before the sides rounded out their scoring with some spectacular goals all round. Fergal Keaveney and Peter Yates – against his former club – got two goals each for the Sandymount side while Bill McDowell top-scored for the visiting cats.

Railway Union’s Fergal Keaveney. Pic: Adrian Boehm

Avoca and Richard Couse, meanwhile, ran riot in the third quarter against Weston in a 9-0 win. It was close in the early stages with Elliott Goode and Daire Hibbert giving the Blackrock scored in the first half for a 2-0 advantage.

Couse, though, scored five goals in the third quarter to bring his league total to 16 goals, making him the top scorer across all Leinster league divisions by some margin.

The Neville Cup finalists were also confirmed with Clontarf reaching their first ever senior cup final of any description thanks to a 4-2 win over Portrane.

All their goals came in the first half with John Mullins getting a corner rebound, Kevin Mullins’ openside strike from top D got the second. Alan O’Malley scored the third in the second quarter with Kevin Mullins weighing in with the fourth.

Kevin is going for his third Neville Cup medal in succession with John winning one in 2017. Standing in their way are the club they won those medals with, Three Rock Rovers who are going for a third successive crown.

They won their semi-final 6-0 against Avoca courtesy of goals from Luke Adams, Evan Jennings, Ali Empey, James Walker, Michael Maguire and Garry Ringwood.

Leinster Division 1: Weston 0 Avoca 9 (R Couse 5, D Hibbert 2, E Goode, C Funge); Railway Union 9 (F Keaveney 2, P Yates 2, R Devlin, F Kelly, D Sheill, R Forrest, H Heisterkamp) Kilkenny 5 (B McDowell 2, H McDonnell, A Atkinson, H Huston)

Neville Cup, semi-final: Portrane 2 (R Sloan, M Ahmed) Clontarf 4 (K Mullins 2, J Mullins, A O’Malley); Avoca 0 Three Rock Rovers 6 (L Adams, E Jennings, A Empey, J Walker, M Maguire, G Ringwood)

Munster Peard Cup – 1st Round: Bandon w/o Catholic Institute scr; Cork Harlequins 7 (J Dale 4, A Dale 2, J Hobbs) UCC 1 (S Dring); Waterford 0 Cork C of I 7 (R Sweetnam 2, E Finnegan 2, K O’Dea 2, S Parker)

Partners of The Hook