Garryduff hosts girls Under-18 and 16 intepro series

Garryduff is the venue as Munster plays host for the girls Under-18 and 16 interpros this weekend with three days, 10 teams and 20 matches to savour.

Leinster are hoping to repeat their 2018 double and they have a strong line-up to choose from in the older age bracket.

Orna Bools, Lucy Crowe, India Cotter, Isabella Dunlop, Isabelle Maleady, Martha McCready and Sophie Dix all played in an Irish Under-17 selection during the summer while Caoimhe Byrne and Aoife Glennon were in Under-18 action.

Moving up from the Irish Under-16s are Newpark trio Milly Lynch, Zoe Watterson and Lauren Moore along with Ali Griffin.

They open their campaign in the last game of day one against hosts Munster who kickstart the competition at lunchtime on Friday against Connacht.

The southerners are captained by Nikki Barry who starred in Cork Harlequins’ run to the Irish Senior Cup last season.  She is among a half dozen from the club while Crescent College’s Kate Russell All-Ireland Schools winners provide vice-captain Sophie Clein, Eimear Lane and Nicole Griffin to coach Darren Wilkinson’s line-up.

The South East, drawing players from Wexford, Waterford, Carlow, Laois and Tipperary, start their tournament in the second game against Ulster.

The Under-16 campaign, meanwhile, follows the exact same schedule with Connacht v Munster first, South East v Ulster next then Munster v Leinster to close out day one.

Leinster Under-16s: Martha Duignan (GK, Monkstown/St Andrews College), Zoe Hoffman (GK, Railway Union/John Scottus School), Rebecca Carthy (Three Rock Rovers/Loreto Foxrock), Isobel de Chaumont (Pembroke/Muckross Park College), Erika Field (Avoca/Loreto Foxrock), Georgie Fottrell (Corinthian/Muckross Park College), Alex Gallagher (Pembroke/Muckross Park  College), Ella Kelly (Newbridge/Newbridge College), Georgia Kelly (Pembroke/Mount Anville), Eva Maleady (Corinthian/Muckross Park College), Anna McCarthy (Old Alex/Alexandra College), Jessica McConn-Walsh (Railway Union/The Teresian School), Sarah McFarland (Avoca/Holy Child Killiney), Ella Pasley (Pembroke/The High School), Mikayla Power (Old Alex/Wesley College), Dara Rankin (Avoca/Newpark Comprehensive), Roisin Sexton (Naas/Newbridge College), Siuin Woods (Railway Union/Wesley College)

Head Coach: Noelle Farrell  

Manager: Claire Byrne        

Asst Coach: David McGivern           

Members of the Leinster Under-16 panel

South East U-16s: Doireann McCurdy (GK, Kilkenny/Loreto Kilkenny), Molly Swift (GK, Newtown School), Abby Byrne (Enniscorthy/St Leo’s Carlow), Ava Chamney (Enniscorthy/Kilkenny College), Rebecca Doyle (Enniscorthy/Newtown School), Katie Earle (Waterford/Newtown School), Lily Grace (Clonmel/Kilkenny College), Julie Greene (Kilkenny/Kilkenny College), Amy Handcock (Kilkenny College), Zoe Handcock (Kilkenny College), Leah Kidd (Enniscorthy/FCJ Bunclody), Rachel Leahy (Kilkenny/Loreto Kilkenny), Emma Manogue (Kilkenny/Loreto Kilkenny), Zara Notley (Waterford/Newtown School), Rebecca Ogilvie (Enniscorthy/St Mary’s, New Ross), Megan Sherwood (Kilkenny/Kilkenny College), Emer Sweetnam (Kilkenny/Kilkenny College), Sarah Wilson (Carlow/Kilkenny College)

Head Coach: Alan Smith      

Manager/Asst Coach: Ivanna Yates           

Asst Manager: Anna Flood

Under-16 schedule

Friday 20th September: Connacht v Munster, 12pm; South East v Ulster, 2.15pm; Munster v Leinster, 5.15pm

Saturday 21st September: Connacht v South East, 9.30am; Ulster v Leinster, 11.45am; South East v Munster, 2.45pm; Connacht v Ulster, 5pm

Sunday 22nd September: Leinster v South East, 9am; Munster v Ulster, 11.15am; Leinster v Connacht, 2.15pm

Leinster Under-18s: Aoife Glennon (GK, Avoca/Newbridge College), Holly Micklem (GK, Corinthian/Wesley College), Orna Bools (Three Rock Rovers/Jesus & Mary College), Caoimhe Byrne (Pembroke/Newbridge College), India Cotter (Muckross/Mount Anville), Lucy Crowe (Railway Union/Muckross Park College), Sophie Dix (Pembroke/Loreto, St Stephen’s Green), Isabela Dunlop (Old Alex/The King’s Hospital), Ali Griffin (Pembroke/Mount Anville), Eva Lavelle (Railway Union/Alexandra College), Milly Lynch (Corinthian/Newpark Comprehensive), Martha McCready (Railway Union/St Andrews College), Lauren Moore (Avoca/Newpark Comprehensive), Emma Paul (Pembroke/Wesley College), Lindsay Power (Old Alex/Wesley College), Alex Purcell (Pembroke/Holy Child Killiney), Nicola Torrans (Corinthian/Loreto, St Stephen’s Green), Zoe Watterson (Avoca/Newpark Comprehensive)

Head Coach: Rob Devlin      

Manager: Freda Canavan    

Asst Coach: Simon Pearson

The Leinster Under-18 squad.

South East Under-18s: Norah McGinty (GK, Enniscorthy/FCJ Bunclody), Rachel Shute (GK, Waterford/Newtown School), Abby Gilsenan (Kilkenny/Loreto Kilkenny), Aisling McGrath (Kilkenny/Loreto Kilkenny), Ally Williams (Kilkenny/Kilkenny College), Ava Murphy (Kilkenny/Loreto Kilkenny), Deané Lodewyks (Enniscorthy/Enniscorthy Vocational Sch), Emma Osborne (Carlow/Ursuline Thurles), Faye Neill (Kilkenny/Kilkenny College), Flo McDonald (Abbeyleix/Kilkenny College), Holly Hutchinson (Kilkenny College), Isabelle Walsh (Enniscorthy/Kilkenny College), Jennifer Leahy (Kilkenny/Loreto Kilkenny), Lucy Oakes (Kilkenny/Kilkenny College), Niamh Moore (Kilkenny/Loreto Kilkenny), Niamh Ogilvie (Enniscorthy/St Mary’s New Ross), Sophia O’Shea (Kilkenny/Loreto Kilkenny), Tory Byrne (Abbeyleix/Villiers School)

Head Coach: Eric Comerford          

Manager: Mags McGrath     

Asst Coach: Paula Farrell/ Bronagh Cadogan

Under-18 schedule

Friday 20th September: Connacht v Munster, 1pm; South East v Ulster, 3.30pm; Munster v Leinster, 6.30pm

Saturday 21st September: Connacht v South East, 10am; Ulster v Leinster, 12.30am; South East v Munster, 3.30pm; Connacht v Ulster, 6pm

Sunday 22nd September: Leinster v South East, 9.30am; Munster v Ulster, 12pm; Leinster v Connacht, 3pm

Partners of The Hook