Cantor Fitzgerald to sponsor women’s Under-21 tournament

Investment firm Cantor Fitzgerald Ireland has been confirmed as title sponsor for the Under-21 Women’s tournament being hosted from 31 May to 4 June at Pembroke Wanderers.

Dave Passmore’s side will host four competitive matches against Canada, India and Scotland in addition to a number of friendly games before and after the tournament, presenting an ideal opportunity for the Junior Green Army to build toward this summer’s EuroChampionships in Valencia.

Cantor Fitzgerald Ireland’s CEO, Ronan Reid said of the decision to sign up as sponsor: “We are delighted to partner with Hockey Ireland and to support young and upcoming hockey talent during the development years, even more so to champion female participation in sport.

“Celebrating up and coming talent and promoting the spirit of the game instils so many positive values. We recognise how important supporting the younger team is, in preparing for the future, and we share many of the same values in our own organisation, from commitment and discipline, to integrity and passion. We will be rooting for Team Ireland.”

Jerome Pels CEO commented “Cantor Fitzgerald Ireland will provide some much needed support for this tournament which will cover the peripheral costs associated with hosting a world level tournament such as officials, umpires and transport costs. We are thankful to Cantor Fitzgerald for their support at this late stage of the development of this group as it is important in driving the long term success of our senior women’s team.”

At this stage, head coach Passmore has announced a squad of 22 for this tournament from which he can select 18 on a daily basis.

At present, this includes senior squad players who may be selected for the World Series event in Banbridge while due to leaving certificate exams, he is forced to do without the services of Amy Elliott (Railway Union), Caoimhe Perdue (Cork Harlequins) and Caitlin Sherin (Loreto).

The side will be co-captained by Erin Getty (Queens) and Cork Harlequins’ Michelle Barry.

Passmore commented: “It is an enormous boost for the team to have this support for the tournament along with shirts sponsors Eugene F Collins.

“Competitive matches tell us so much about players and how they react to given situations, and for us to be able to play this event in Dublin is largely thanks to both these sponsors and our fantastic parents group who have taken on much of the event organisation.”

Under-21 Women’s Four Nations Tournament (Pembroke, May 31 to June 4): Hannah Humphries (GK, UCC) Lizzie Murphy (GK, Loreto) **, Emma Buckley (GK, Royal Racing Club de Bruxelles) **, Hannah McLoughlin (UCD) **, Erin Getty (Co-Captain, Queens), Ellen Reid (Banbridge), Alana Doyle (Ards), Jane Kilpatrick (Loughborough Students), Grace McLoughlin (Loreto), Christina Hamill (Loreto), Michelle Barry (Co-Captain, Cork Harlequins), Michelle Carey (UCD), Erica Markey (Trinity), Ellen Curran (UCD) **, Abbie Russell (UCD), Sarah Torrans (Loreto) **, Jessica McMaster (Queens), Siofra O’Brien (Loreto), Laura Foley (Catholic Institute) Niamh Carey (UCD),  Mia Jennings (Loreto), Yasmin Pratt (Muckross)

** denotes – if not selected for Senior Women

Unavailable due to Exams: Amy Elliott (Railway Union), Caoimhe Perdue (Cork Harlequins), Caitlin Sherin (Loreto)

The following will also participate in the non-tournament matches: Jade Arundell (GK, Michigan State, USA), Jenny Clein (UCC), Katherine Egan (UCD), Amy Elliott (Railway Union), Katie Fearon (Railway Union), Gemma Ferguson (GK, Ulster Elks), Niamh Gowing (Muckross), Nina Heisterkamp (UCD), Hannah Irwin (Ulster Elks), Mia Jennings (Loreto), Suzie Kelly (UCD), Jade Lamont (GK, Notts Trent/Beeston, England), Rebecca McConnell (Mossley), Sophie McDowell (Notts Trent/Beeston, England), Emily McStea (Queens), Siofra Murdoch (Havard University, USA), Yasmin Pratt (Muckross), Holly Taggart (Bristol Uni, England), Emma Young (UCD)

Fixture schedule
Sunday, May 26: Ireland v Canada, 6pm
Monday, May 27: Ireland v Canada, 6pm

Four Nations Tournament Matches (Pembroke Wanderers HC)
Friday, May 31: India v Canada, 4.30pm; IRELAND v Scotland, 6.30pm
Saturday, June 1: Scotland v Canada, 4.30pm; IRELAND v India, 6.30pm
Monday, June 3: India v Scotland, 2.30pm; IRELAND v Canada, 4.30pm
Tuesday, June 4: 3rd v 4th Play-off, 2.15pm; Final, 4.30pm

Thursday, June 6: Ireland v India, 3.30pm
Friday, June 7: Ireland v India, 6pm

Partners of The Hook