Junior Green Army secure precious home tournament

The Irish Under-21 women’s side has secured a precious home tournament at Pembroke as they welcome Scotland, Canada and India in late May and early June for a vital preparation for the European Junior Championships.

The women’s summer Euros have the double-function of being a Junior World Cup qualifier and so it is a key to get a decent programme under their belt.

The Irish Under-21s have secured a strong Four Nations tournament at home. Pic: Adrian Boehm

The series will be surrounded by four other challenge matches. As such, Dave Passmore has named a large panel with plenty of scope for movement in the coming months, partially with potential call-ups to the Irish senior panel, partially to keep players just above the Under-21 threshold involved in high-performance training to help progress their development.

Schoolgirls Amy Elliott, Caoimhe Perdue and Caitlin Sherin will not feature in the Four Nations tournament but are part of the panel for the summer camps.

From the 2017 Euros squad, Emma Buckley, Liz Murphy, Jessica McMaster, Sarah Torrans, Michelle Carey, Erin Getty, Hannah McLoughlin, Abbie Russell, Suzie Kelly and Ellen Curran are all still eligible.

Harvard University’s Siofra Murdoch is included in her first Irish panel. She was involved with US Under-16s before but has since declared for Ireland – her father Ali was a stalwart of Monkstown’s first team in the 1980s and 90s.

“We are delighted to have such a high quality tournament at this stage of our preparation and to have the additional matches against Canada and India will provide the players some great developmental opportunities and to experience different playing styles,” Passmore said of the main tournament.

“This event is only possible due to the ongoing support of our sponsor Eugene F Collins, the generous support of our donors and fantastic parents’ group.”

Due to donations and the supports arranged by the management and the squad, the group will not be required to fundraise for 2019.

Under-21 Women’s Four Nations Tournament (Pembroke, May 31 to June 4): Hannah Humphries (GK, UCC) Lizzie Murphy (GK, Loreto) **, Emma Buckley (GK, Royal Racing Club de Bruxelles) **, Hannah McLoughlin (UCD) **, Erin Getty (Co-Captain, Queens), Ellen Reid (Banbridge), Alana Doyle (Ards), Jane Kilpatrick (Loughborough Students), Grace McLoughlin (Loreto), Christina Hamill (Loreto), Michelle Barry (Co-Captain, Cork Harlequins), Michelle Carey (UCD), Erica Markey (Trinity), Ellen Curran (UCD) **, Abbie Russell (UCD), Sarah Torrans (Loreto) **, Jessica McMaster (Queens), Siofra O’Brien (Loreto), Laura Foley (Catholic Institute) Niamh Carey (UCD)

** denotes – if not selected for Senior Women
Reserves: Mia Jennings (Loreto), Yasmin Pratt (Muckross)

Unavailable due to Exams: Amy Elliott (Railway Union), Caoimhe Perdue (Cork Harlequins), Caitlin Sherin (Loreto)

The following will also participate in the non-tournament matches: Jade Arundell (GK, Michigan State, USA), Jenny Clein (UCC), Katherine Egan (UCD), Amy Elliott (Railway Union), Katie Fearon (Railway Union), Gemma Ferguson (GK, Ulster Elks), Niamh Gowing (Muckross), Nina Heisterkamp (UCD), Hannah Irwin (Ulster Elks), Mia Jennings (Loreto), Suzie Kelly (UCD), Jade Lamont (GK, Notts Trent/Beeston, England), Rebecca McConnell (Mossley), Sophie McDowell (Notts Trent/Beeston, England), Emily McStea (Queens), Siofra Murdoch (Havard University, USA), Yasmin Pratt (Muckross), Holly Taggart (Bristol Uni, England), Emma Young (UCD)

Fixture schedule
Sunday, May 26: Ireland v Canada, 6pm
Monday, May 27: Ireland v Canada, 6pm

Four Nations Tournament Matches (Pembroke Wanderers HC)
Friday, May 31: India v Canada, 4.30pm; IRELAND v Scotland, 6.30pm
Saturday, June 1: Scotland v Canada, 4.30pm; IRELAND v India, 6.30pm
Monday, June 3: India v Scotland, 2.30pm; IRELAND v Canada, 4.30pm
Tuesday, June 4: 3rd v 4th Play-off, 2.15pm; Final, 4.30pm

Thursday, June 6: Ireland v India, 3.30pm
Friday, June 7: Ireland v India, 6pm

Partners of The Hook