Rovers win 11th trophy since 2017 with Mills Cup retention

Mills Cup final
Three Rock Rovers 4 (J Hosking, B Walker, H Morris, M English) Glenanne 2 (J Saeys, B Venter)

The Three Rock Rovers juggernaut rolls on as the club retained yet another trophy at Grange Road, storming back from 2-0 down to win the Mills Cup with a 4-2 victory over Glenanne.

For the current campaign, it adds to the Neville Cup, Leinster and National Indoor Trophy as well as promotion in Europe indoors and advancement to the Euro Hockey League outdoors, making it 11 trophies since 2017.

The Three Rock Rovers Mills Cup winning team. Picture: Diarmuid MacMahon

For Glenanne, thoughts of what have been will linger. They were breathtaking for the first 20 minutes and deservedly 2-0 up when Jerome Saeys won and scored a penalty stroke and Brad Venter smashed in from the top of the D.

Jamie Carr once again was earning his salt between the posts but the game began to turn as half-time closed in with Iain Walker called on at the far end, producing one remarkable save from Matthew Walker.

Rovers got one back from their dynamic captain Jody Hosking from a surprise corner variation, sweeping in low from the left of the circle.

It kick-started a run of four goals in 18 minutes of game time as Luke Madeley took the pace off a drag-flick to allow Ben Walker to guide home. Harry Morris then cleaned up from Kevin Mullins half-hit shot to give Rovers a 3-2 lead.

And the game was won when Hosking played a brilliant part in the killer fourth goal. He emerged from a green card sin-binning at the perfect time to race off the bench and create an overlap from which he beat his marker for pace and laid on the perfect pass for Mark English to touch home.

Glenanne had three corners after that but, with Jakobi on the bench during that time, they did not unduly test Carr who was resolute to save each one.

Glenanne: I Walker, D Keogh, B Venter, C Jakobi, N Byrne, E O’Malley, S Boucher, J Brennan, R Shaw, G Gibney, S O’Connor
Subs: G Shaw, S Brownlow, J McCormack, J Saeys

Three Rock Rovers: J Carr, R Nair, M Walker, R Canning, B Walker, L Madeley, D Walsh, H Morris, J Hosking, M English
Subs: C Empey, A Empey, K Mullins, J McAllister, H MacMahon

Umpires: R Abbott, R Argent

Partners of The Hook