O’Donnell provides the Muckross Premier final magic; Loreto on the Green win Senior 1A

Leinster Schoolgirls Senior Premier League final
Muckross Park 1 (I Maleady) Mount Anville 1 (J Ringrose), Muckross won shoot-out 3-1

Kate O’Donnell produced three remarkable shoot-out saves to earn Muckross Park a memorable Leinster Schoolgirls Premier League crown at Grange Road.

Indeed, the goalkeeper proved the unlikeliest of heroes as she has spent much of the season as back-up to Ava Russell who missed the final through injury.

Given her chance, she stepped up brilliantly, keeping out each of Mount Anville’s three efforts while her forwards Charlie Browne, Lelia O’Byrne and Sarah McAuley – exceptional all game – scored for a 3-0 outcome.

Based on normal time, it was a little bit of a steal. Mount Anville hammered away at the Muckross circle for the first 25 minutes with India Cotter, Julie Ringrose and Natasha Twomey causing havoc.

Ringrose’s brilliant run down the right led to a Twomey shot at close quarters that O’Donnell shut out. Twomey had another pair of pot shots but Muckross pounced from their first major attack when Ava Walshe and Fiona McNulty got to the baseline and worked a cross that was goalbound when Isabel Maleady tapped in.

Lelia O’Byrne was exceptional in midfield for Muckross and she generated a good spell of pressure with her marauding runs.

Anville fought back and a got a clever equaliser when Lisa Mulcahy worked the ball to injector Ringrose from a penalty corner three minutes into the second half.

Muckross were existing on the counter with Browne’s energy giving them an outlet, winning their first corner. McAuley struck it well but it was saved away.

Anville eked out another couple of corners in the last six minutes but it was the Donnybrook side that carried the momentum into the shoot-out to land the laurels.

Earlier in the day, Loreto Foxrock won a cracking Claudia Tierney Cup final 4-3 against Loreto Beaufort

In Senior 1A, Loreto St Stephen’s Green were 3-1 victors over Newpark with goals from Sarah Bryce, Florence Maughan and Katie Rose Barry.

Newpark started the stronger of the two teams, going 1-0 after the first 10 minutes, however the Green continued to fight and just before the end of the first half were awarded a penalty corner.

It was struck from the top by Irish Under-16 panelist Sophie Dix and Bryce managed to get a reverse deflection on the ball to draw the sides level at half-time.

The Green started got on top in the second half, winning a corner in the first minute of the half which was well saved. Moments later, Bryce was again looking to add to her tally when she hit the crossbar from the top of the circle.

Third year student, Florence Maughan scored her first senior team goal in greeat fashion when she received the ball in the circle and spun nicely to place her shot into the bottom corner.

Barry then got the insurance goal when she intercepted a pass from the Newpark defense to take the Goalkeeper on in a 1v1, winning the battle.

Senior Premier League final: Muckross Park 1 (I Maleady) Mount Anville 1 (J Ringrose), Muckross won shoot-out 3-1
Claudia Tierney Cup final: Loreto Foxrock 4 Loreto Beaufort 3
Senior 1B final: Loreto St Stephen’s Green 3 Newpark 1

Partners of The Hook