Lynch fires High School to first ever Senior Cup crown

Leinster Schoolboys Senior Cup final
The High School 1 (H Lynch) Wesley College 0
Harry Lynch’s 20th minute smash saw The High School land their first ever Leinster Schools senior title as they won the cup 1-0 against Wesley at Grange Road.

For Paul Fitzpatrick and his cohorts, it has been a long time coming with the school enduring a shoot-out loss in the league final loss last month as well as narrow defeats in both the league and cup finals in 2018.

The winning High School team

They were good value for the success with Lynch the centrifugal force in midfield around which Ross Howard, Calum Adair, Ali Empey and Evan Jennings gravitated.

In the first half, they ran up four penalty corners, all of which were brilliantly blocked by goalkeeper Euan Mackay. The fourth, though, could only be saved as far as Lynch who controlled and thumped home at a rate of knots.

They were in well control at half-time but the second half saw the onset of jitters as Wesley increasingly ramped up the pressure and had a number of great chances flash across the face of goal via Tom Power, Josh Greaney and Ben Cullen.

Goalkeeper Ben Whelan also made key blocks when called upon as they scraped over the line for their historic victory.
Indeed, it was the first time Wesley and St Andrew’s had not won the premier title since 2002.

Earlier on, Wesley won the Minor A Cup final with a 2-1 success against High School. Conor Walsh – younger brother of Irish international Daragh – roofed a first half drag-flick but Charlie Beatty levelled just before the break.

Gordon Bernon, though, swept in the winner with 10 minutes to go for the Ballinteer school.

High School: B Whelan, A Canning, R Howard, J Coman, T McCausland, M Wright, H Lynch, Calum Adair, E Breen, A Empey, E Jennings
Subs: B Cripps, D Sullivan, Ciaran Adair, E Flynn, A O’Connor, A Maguire, J Murphy

Wesley: E Mackay, B Ryder, H Burns, A Walker, R Williams, B O’Grady, S Ruttle, B Cullen, F Marriott, J Greaney, T Power
Subs: M Gallagher, A Galbraith, B Adams, J Smalley, C Mackay, M McCabe, C Larkin

Umpires: B Bale, G Hohn

Leinster Schoolboys final
Senior Cup final: The High School 1 (H Lynch) Wesley College 0
Minor Cup final: Wesley College 2 (C Walsh, G Bernon) The High School 1 (C Beatty)

Partners of The Hook