Crowe sweeps Muckross to memorable Junior Cup victory

Leinster Schoolgirls Junior A Cup final
Muckross Park 2 (L Crowe 2) Newpark Comprehensive 1 (Z Watterson)
Lucy Crowe’s pair of identical penalty corner goals saw Muckross storm back to win the Leinster Junior A Cup final 2-1 at Grange Road.

She swept home twice in the second half from clever switch moves, working the ball out right and then back in to the middle to convert from around the flick-spot.

It over-turned a half-time deficit as Zoe Watterson slammed home the opening goal on the stroke of the interval, handing a dream start to the Blackrock school in their first ever final of this magnitude.

Watterson had also created the first real danger of note when she embarked on a run down the left wing, flipping the ball into the middle where Crowe had to scramble to clear.

Muckross did look dangerous on the counter when they turned over on halfway while they won the game’s first corner 15 minutes in but a switch move to the injector did not work out.

Milly Lynch was superb at the base of the defence for Newpark with a series of key interventions while her distribution set the likes of Dara Rankin loose to attack at pace.

But Muckross started to work their way around the flanks in the second half and it paid dividends. It was built around a steady defensive platform with Alex Gallagher solid.

Crowe became more and more of an influence, stepping forward regularly from sweeper to get things going. She got the equaliser three minutes into the second half. And she struck again with 12 minutes to go in similar fashion from the Donnybrook school’s third penalty corner.

It continues their excellent run of results at this level of competition, reaching three finals in four years, winning twice.

Muckross Park: G O’Reilly, G Fotterall, M Waters, L Comerford, H Rooney, O Grimes Dooley, I de Chadmont, R Maher, L Crowe, A Gallagher, E Booth
Subs: H Veale, S Carroll, I Sheehan, S Rooney, C Rogers

Newpark Comprehensive: E Gallagher, L Adams, M Lynch, J O’Reilly, A Whelan, Z Watterson, D Rankin, L Moore, S McEvoy, J McEvoy, O Gul
Subs: R Cullen, I Hamilton, L Geoghegan, L Tierney

Partners of The Hook