UCD – Women’s EY Hockey League

Last season: 1st EY Hockey League; Champions Trophy semi-finals; Irish Senior Cup winners; Jacqui Potter Cup final
Coach: Miles Warren

Players in: Hannah McLoughlin (Loreto), Niamh Carey, Nina Heisterkamp, Michelle Carey (all Railway Union), Sarah Patton (Erasmus), Ava Beatty, Suzie Kelly (both Monkstown), Charlotte Cope (Kilkenny), Sophie Thomas (Kilkenny)

UCD celebrating their EYHL regular season win last term. Pic: Sinead Hingston

Players out: Deirdre Duke (Dusseldorf), Katie Mullan (Club an der Alster), Sarah Robinson (Old Alex), Sara Twomey (Loreto), Emma Russell (Old Alex), Sorcha Clarke (Pembroke), Freya McDermott (Loreto)

Overview: After a couple of seasons of dominance during the regular season of the EY Hockey League – losing just once in 36 games – UCD are facing into a new season with a major overhaul going on.

Players who were central to their identity for the last few years like Katie Mullan, Deirdre Duke, Sarah Robinson, Emma Russell, Sorcha Clarke and Sara Twomey all finishing up. With Lena Tice on her travels down under for the next while – where she won the New Zealand league last weekend – it means plenty of changes and nine newcomers will forge the main part of a new look line-up alongside Ellen Curran, Leah McGuire and Clodagh Cassin.

Speaking ahead of the season, Miles Warren said: “We are fortunate we have attracted high-quality players to replace them but there is no way of replacing the experience and personalties that have left UCD.

“The turnover of players in UCD is something we are all accustomed to and its a challenge for players and coaches to now create a team that can be competitive in the EYHL this season.

“Our first aim is to create a new identity for this group of players and then we hope to build throughout the season and be competitive in 2019. It will be a challenge for us this season as I think all the teams in the league are more evenly matched and initially we will be aiming to get to the EYHL play offs weekend.”

Irish Senior Cup draw: second round v Lurgan (home)

Partners of The Hook