Railway Union – Women’s EY Hockey League

Last season: 5th EYHL position, Irish Senior Cup quarter-final, Jacqui Potter Cup winners
Coach: Colm Blennerhassett (4th season); assistant coaches: Eddie O’Malley, Isobel Joyce

Railway Union with the Jacqui Potter Cup. Pic: Adrian Boehm

Players in: Carolyn Crampton, Niamh Sweeney, Cliona McCullough (all Trinity) Sarah Hawkshaw (University of Massachussets), Lily Lloyd (Monkstown)
Players out: Grace McLoughlin (Loreto) Nina Heisterkamp, Michelle Carey, Niamh Carey (all UCD), Jodie Douglas (Corinthian), Kate O’Hogan (Monmouth University), Emma Smyth

Overview: After a summer with a number of players moving in and out of the club, Colm Blennerhassett is looking forward to working with a new group. The experience of Orla Fox, Anna May Whelan and Holly Jenkinson combined with the continued development of young players at the club such as Amy Elliott (Irish U-21), Katie Fearon (Irish U-21 panel), Niamh Shaw and Kate Orr means the club are looking forward to the season.

Bedding in the new recruits will also be crucial as a trio of Trinity players with a decent amount of experience add to their panel with Niamh Sweeney having captained the student side. They will miss the experience of Emma Smyth who is taking a break.

Last term, they were in the playoff position for long periods only to be pipped at the end by Loreto but they are always hard to beat and a force to be reckoned with in the Jacqui Potter Cup.

Irish Senior Cup draw: bye to round three

Partners of The Hook