Muckross – Women’s EY Hockey League

Last season: Leinster Division 1 winners;  EYHL playoff winners; Irish Senior Cup second round; Jacqui Potter Cup quarter-final

Coach: Sarah Scott (second season); manager: Freda Canavan; fitness coach: Nadine Doherty

Players In: Sarah O’Loughlin (UCD), Susan Cannon (Avoca), Ellie McLoughlin (Naas), Anna Scott (UCD), Miah Phelan Sweeney (UCC)
Players Out: Clodagh Ferry (University of Vermont), Jane Gilsenan (work relocation)

Muckross celebrating a Niamh Gowing goal last season. Pic: Adrian Boehm

Overview: Muckross’s first Leinster Division One title after 21 years sees them in the EY Hockey League for the first time. They bring with them an exciting young team that have mostly risen through the ranks with the club having risen from Division Four to reach this level.

A big bonus is not exactly a new face with Yasmin Pratt deciding to stay in Ireland after initially being accepted into a university in the US. She was a star of the Kilkenny College side that won the Kate Russell and the equal top scorer in the regional league with 15 goals for Muckross. Her pace, alongside Niamh Gowing, gives their attack a focus while Emma Mathews is another Irish Under-21 panelist.

With a quartet of Under-18 interpro players – Lisa Mulcahy, Grace Keane, Sarah McAuley and Emma Dawson – it is a step up but one which should aid their development. Sophie Barnwell’s goals from midfield will also be an important factor in establishing themselves in the division. Rachel Barnett and Irish underage star Ellie McLoughlin dice for the goalkeeping duties.

The coaching team has plenty of nods to the club’s glory days with Sarah Scott in for a second season while Freda Canavan is the manager.

Irish Senior Cup draw: second round vs Old Alex (away)

Partners of The Hook