Girls interpro sides named for September showdown

The Leinster Under-18 and 16 girls squads have been named for the upcoming inteprovincials which take place in Grange Road from September 21 to 23, 2018.

Coach Gavin Groves has four of the side that won the Under-16 competition a year ago available with Irish underage internationals Milly Lynch – a key drag-flicker – and Robin McLoughlin along with Zoe Watterson and Lucy Crowe back for a second campaign.

Leinster’s U-16s celebrate during last year’s Interpros. Pic: Adrian Boehm

Indeed, six of last year’s vintage from Leinster who went on to play for Ireland involved again with Nicola Torrans, Isabella Dunlop, Emma Paul and Caoimhe Byrne moving up to the Under-18s.

Martha McCready, a reserve for the Irish side for their Six Nations, also moves up to Sarah Scott’s Under-18 line-up. She has a side with a decent amount of experience of these tournaments with Iseult Cambay, Amy Elliott, Grace Keane, Sarah McAuley, Ellie McLoughlin, Katie Jane Marshall and Lisa Mulcahy all in for a second year at this grade.

Elliott played for both the Irish Under-18s and 21s during the summer while Marshall and Mulcahy were involved at Under-18 level.

Leinster Under-16 girls panel: Aine Naughton (Monkstown/Holy Child Killiney), Alex Purcell (Pembroke Wanderers/Holy Child Killiney), Ali Griffin (Pembroke Wanderers/Mount Anville), Annabel Sweetnam (Loreto/The Kings Hospital), Astrid O’Toole (GK, Monkstown/St Andrews College), Erike Gallagher (GK, Avoca/Newpark), Isobel Bowen (Three Rock Rovers/The High School), Jennifer Hamill (Genesis/Loreto Foxrock), Katie Murphy (Pembroke Wanderers/St Andrews College), Lauren Moore (Avoca/Newpark), Lucy Crowe (Railway Union/Muckross Park), Milly Lynch (Corinthian/Newpark School), Orla O’Brien (Avoca/Loreto Foxrock), Robin McLoughlin (Loreto/Loreto Beaufort), Roisin Sexton (Naas/Newbridge College), Sinead O’Grady (YMCA/Wesley College), Sophie Dix (Pembroke Wanderers/Loreto Stephens Green), Zoe Watterson (Avoca/Newpark School)

Head Coach: Gavin Groves
Manager: Claire Byrne
Asst Coaches: Noelle Farrell/Rob Devlin
Physio: Sophie Melvin

Leinster Under-18 girls panel: Caoimhe Byrne (Newbridge/Newbridge College), Iseult Cambay (GK, Pembroke Wanderers/St Andrew’s College), Emma Dawson (Muckross/Loreto Foxrock), Georgia Dunlop (Old Alex/The King’s Hospital), Isabella Dunlop (Old Alex/The King’s Hospital), Amy Elliott (Railway Union/St Andrews’s College), Grace Keane (Muckross/Mt Anville), Gaby Lewis (Pembroke Wanderers/St Andrew’s College), Katie Jane Marshall (Pembroke Wanderers/St Andrew’s College), Sarah McAuley (Muckross/Muckross Park), Martha McCready (Railway Union/St Andrew’s College), Emily McKay (Corinthian/Wesley College), Ellie McLoughlin (GK, Naas/Kilkenny College), Lisa Mulcahy (Muckross/Mt Anville School), Laura Noble (Pembroke Wanderers/Holy Child Killiney), Emma Paul (Bray/Wesley College), Aoife Taaffe (Loreto/Loreto Foxrock), Nicola Torrans (Corinthian/Loreto Stephens Green)

Head Coach: Sarah Scott
Manager: Freda Canavan
Asst Coach: Ian Clarke

Partners of The Hook