Shaw names 24 players for Scotland series

Graham Shaw will bring 24 players to Scotland for a three match series at Glasgow Green in the first-post EYHL matches for the Irish women’s team in the lead-up to the World Cup.

The series was originally scheduled for earlier in the year but heavy snow prevented the squad from travelling, and the rescheduled series now marks the beginning of an exceptionally busy few months for the Green Army.

From the panel that went to Bisham Abbey, the squad is reduced by five with Nikki Evans and Megan Frazer both still on club duty in Germany while Sinead Loughran, Hannah McLoughlin and Grace O’Flanagan do not travel this time.

Frazer is continuing to make a tentative return to action after 18 months out injured and played a part in Mannheimer HC’s run to the EuroHockey Club Cup in Surbiton last weekend as did Evans, winning a silver medal.

Speaking about the series, Shaw said: “This series marks the start of an intense match period for us as a squad, we have 16 matches prior to the World Cup.

“We’re excited to begin this phase and spend as much time as possible together as group. Scotland are a strong side so this will be a good test for the team and requires a quick turnaround before we fly to London on the June 6 to play England.”

Fixtures at Glasgow National Hockey Centre:
May 31: Ireland v Scotland, 7pm
June 2: Ireland v Scotland, 3pm
June 3: Ireland vs Scotland, 3pm

Ireland squad: Ayeisha McFerran (University of Louisville), Emma Buckley (Cork Harlequins), Shirley McCay (Pegasus), Yvonne O’Byrne (Cork Harlequins), Hannah Mathews (Loreto), Lena Tice (UCD), Cliodhna Sargent (Cork Harlequins), Zoe Wilson (Belfast Harlequins), Gillian Pinder (Pembroke), Lizzie Colvin (Belfast Harlequins), Katie Mullan (UCD), Nicci Daly (Loreto), Ali Meeke (Loreto), Roisin Upton (Cork Harlequins), Leah McGuire (UCD), Chloe Watkins (Bloemendaal), Anna O’Flanagan (Bloemendaal), Rebecca Barry (Cork Harlequins), Ellen Curran (UCD), Deirdre Duke (UCD), Naomi Carroll (Cork Harlequins), Sarah Torrans (Loreto), Aisling Naughton (Pembroke), Emily Beatty (Pembroke)

Partners of The Hook