Temple win schools indoor invitational tournament

Hosts Mount Temple took the laurels from the from a five-team individual tournament held on the Malahide Road, prevailing on goal difference after an epic final game against St Columba’s 3-1.

Columba’s deservedly took the lead after a few minutes when nice play down the right result in a tap in at the back post. Emer Murphy, who went on to win the player of tournament award – sponsored by Gilmour sports, presented by Hockey Ireland’s Kenny Carroll – tied it up from a corner routine half way through the game.

Hosts and winners Mount Temple

In an end to end match, Temple went 2-1 when Jess Maguire converted. Columba’s then had three corners in quick succesion, going inches wide from one effort and saw another saved off the line by Sophie Gibney.

Temple though went 3-1 up Enya Kernan slotted home after robbing the Columba’s right back. Columba’s never gave up but could not add to there tally despite finishing strongly.

Before the finale, the hosts started by brightly dispatching St Andrews 4-0 and Wesley 7-0 before losing to a determined Loreto Bray 2-1.

St Columba’s – with star player Sophia Cole – running things, won a hard fought 2-1 win over Loreto Bray. They followed up with a 4-1 win versus St Andrew’s and a 7-0 win against Wesley, going into the decisive game.

Bray won two and lost two, beating Mount Temple and Wesley before losing out narrowly to Columba’s and to Andrews 1-0.

Andrew’s finished the tournament in fine style – despite only finishing with a squad of six as four players had to depart early – by winning their last two games, both 1-0. Every team improved dramatically over the course of the day.

Mount Temple Indoor invitational: Mount Temple 4 St Andrew’s 0; St Columba’s 2 Loreto Bray 1; Mount Temple 7 Wesley 0; St Andrew’s 1 St Columba’s 4; Wesley 0 Loreto Bray 4; Mount Temple 1 Loreto Bray 2; St Andrews 1 Wesley 0; Loreto Bray 0 St Andrews 1; Wesley 0 St Columbas 7; Mount Temple 3 St Columbas 1

Standings: 1. Mount Temple 9pts (+12) 2. St Columbas 9pts (+9) 3. Loreto Bray 6pts (+3) 4. St Andews 6pts (-5) 5. Wesley 0pts (-19)

Kenny Carroll presents Emer Murphy with the player of the tournament awards

Partners of The Hook