Shaw to use Berlin Four Nations to finalise selection

Ireland’s women face top level preparation games against three of the world’s top ten sides next week as they meet hosts Germany (seventh in the world), Korea (ninth) and China (eighth) in Berlin.

The side features a couple of changes from the USA series with midfielder Lizzie Colvin the one addition. Chloe Brown and Ellen Curran both had curtailed stints in Pennsylvania due to injury and illness and miss this trip along with Naomi Carroll.

Lizzie Colvin returns to the Irish side. Pic: Adrian Boehm

Otherwise, 19 of the panel that went to the US are retained as the date for final selection for the World League semi-finals in Johannesburg comes ever closer.

“We have decided to bring 20 players to Berlin for the 4 Nations due to the tightness of the selection for WL3 in South Africa. Germany, Korea and China provide ideal opposition in preparation for WL3,” said Shaw.

“We are really looking forward to the challenge and spending more time together as a group.”

In the wake of the tournament, Shaw will confirm his final selection who will depart for Johannesburg on June 29 with the tournament proper starting on July 8

Berlin Four Nations (all local times)
Thursday, June 15: China v Korea, 5pm, Germany v Ireland, 7pm
Friday, June 16: China v Ireland, 5pm; Germany v Korea, 7pm
Sunday, June 18: Ireland v Korea, 12pm; Germany v China, 2pm

Ireland (for Berlin Four Nations): Ayeisha McFerran (University of Louisville), Grace O’Flanagan (Railway Union), Hannah Matthews (Loreto), Alison Meeke (Loreto), Shirley McCay (Ulster Elks), Yvonne O’Byrne (Cork Harlequins), Lena Tice (UCD), Zoe Wilson (Harvestehuder THC), Nicci Daly (Muckross), Roisin Upton (Cork Harlequins), Gillian Pinder (UCD), Chloe Watkins (Hermes-Monkstown), Katie Mullan (UCD), Emma Russell (UCD), Anna O’Flanagan (Hermes-Monkstown), Nikki Evans (Hermes-Monkstown), Emily Beatty (KHC Dragons), Deirdre Duke (UCD), Sinead Loughran (Hermes-Monkstown), Lizzie Colvin (Loreto)

Partners of The Hook