McCready grabs late winner as Pembroke bask in Plate glory

Junior Jacqui Potter Plate
Pembroke 2 (R Lynch, M McCready) Loreto 1 (A Taaffe)
Pembroke claimed the Junior Jacqui Potter Plate as Martha McCready grabbed a late winner on St Patrick’s Day at Grange Road to deny Loreto.

The game started off to a good intensity with Pembroke having the share of possession; however Loreto quickly started to find their feet and began to gather pace creating some opportunities for themselves.

The first goal came after 10 minutes for Pembroke as international cricket star Gaby Lewis found herself in space on the baseline. She floated a pass across the circle to find a diving Rachel Lynch smash home the first goal of the tie.

Pembroke celebrate their Junior Jacqui Potter Plate winners.

Loreto began to capitalize on their 4-4-2 formation towards the end of the first half, Annabel Sweeney and Eilis O’Neill managed to combine in centre mid to cause problems for Katie Jane Marshall on occasion.

Loreto started to create circle entries and almost scored from a deflection attempt, however it was saved by Hannah Mangan in the Pembroke goal.

With this added pressure, Loreto won a corner just before halftime whistle; which was converted by Aoife Taaffe.

Pembroke came out stronger in the second half but struggled to convert any opportunities, with their closest attempt came from a straight shot off the top of the circle from a penalty corner struck by Hazel Simmons, just going wide of left post.

In the dying moments, a ball was picked up inside the circle by Martha McCready who managed to manoeuvre her way around the Loreto goalkeeper where she calmly slotted in an upright reverse stick shot.

After that, both teams upped the anti with attempts at both ends of the pitch, Loreto won a short corner just before the final whistle but were unsuccessful.

Loreto: H Conway Kenny (GK), E O’Neill, A Davis, A McGauran, E Steyaert (C), L Fahy, A Sweeney, A Murray, A Taafe, A McCabe, G Wright, D Looby, A O’Connor, N Boyle, H Dalton

Pembroke: H Mangan (GK), S O’Dea, L Fenlon, B O’Neil, N Courtney, S Daly, KJ Marshall, G Lewis, H Reidy (C), L Noble, M Mcready, H Simmons, L O’Sullivan, J Norris, S Poole, R Lynch

Partners of The Hook