Muckross prevail to claim Claudia Tierney Cup title

Claudia Tierney Cup final
Muckross Park 2 (K Fitzgerald, F McNulty) Wesley College 1 (J McGrane)
Muckross Park fought back from an early deficit to land the Claudia Tierney Cup title with a 2-1 win over Wesley College at Grange Road.

The final was a fast paced game in tough conditions, very cold with a low sun and a strong wind. Muckross started strongly with some threatening runs by the forwards Aoife Flynn and Katie Fitzgerald. But it was Wesley’s Jessica McGrane who opened the scoring early on when she found space in the circle for a reverse stick shot which she finished well.

Muckross Park with the Claudia Tierney Cup trophy

Muckross countered within five minutes when Katie Fitzgerald stole the ball from the Wesley centre back, rounded the remaining defender, and calmly sent a cracking shot in from the edge of the circle to rattle the backboards.

Muckross continued to make the majority of attacks with Sophie Maleady controlling the centre of the pitch, strong attacking and defending from Rachel Cuddy and Leila O’Byrne in midfield with Niamh Shaw cleaning up any stray balls or attacks from Wesley in a confident, composed fashion in the backline.

Muckross supporters

The Muckross keeper, Aobha Russell, was called on to make a crucial penalty corner save from a drag flick which she calmly batted away. The second Muckross goal came on the 20 minute mark and was set up by Sophie Maleady to Fiona McNulty following a sustained period of attack.

Wesley came out strong in the second half. Gemma Walsh was defensively very good in midfield, breaking up a number of attacks. Lynne Pommeroy at right mid and Jodie Douglas at left mid were a constant threat.

Wesley could not find a breakthrough and any attacks were dealt with by the Muckross backline, with some well timed tackles by Clodagh Ferry, Ellie Fitzgerald and Karen Duddy. Chasing the game, Wesley had a corner midway through the second half and, with a chance to equalise, their shot on goal was taken off the line by defender Louise McGrane.

Overall some really creative play from Muckross throughout the game and they finished up 2-1 winners of the Claudia Tierney Trophy 2017

Muckross Park College: Aobha Russell (GK), Ellie Fitzgerald, Clodagh Ferry, Niamh Shaw, Karen Duddy, Rachel Cuddy (Captain), Sophie Maleady, Lelia O’Byrne, Louise McGrane, Fiona McNulty, Katie Fitzgerald, Aoife Flynn, Grace Lanigan, Charlie Browne
Coach: Una McCarthy

Wesley College: Victoria Brooks, Leanne Kelly, Jenny Clarke, Meabh Browne (Captain), Avril Cullen, Sophie Kavanagh, Gemma Walsh, Leah Paul, Jodie Douglas, Lynne Pommeroy, Madeline Fitzgerald, Jessica McGrane, Katie Byrne, Katie Boyd, Aisling Ellis, Lucy Taylor

Wesley College’s senior team

Partners of The Hook