Railway Union – Men’s EYHL preview

Last season: 8th EYHL, Irish Senior Cup quarter-finals, Mills Cup second round
Coach: David Bane (3rd season)

Players in: Aran Rooney (Dublin University), Stuart O’Grady (UCC), Peter Catchpole (UCC), Kiearn Springett (Guildford, Australia), Connor Montgomery (Dublin University), David Mills (Cork Harlequins), Felim Kelly (YMCA), Darragh Curley (Australia), Jeremy McKeever (Fingal), Michael Fulham (Clontarf), Jack Kavanagh (New Zealand)
Players out: Eddie Dore (Kilkenny), James Dick (Tasmania), Chris Reilly (UCD)

Railway coach David Bane. Pic: Adrian Boehm

Railway coach David Bane. Pic: Adrian Boehm

Overview: A glut of new arrivals means Railway will work with a much larger panel than the one that was stretched to the limit at times last season. The core of the squad remains the same with Mark English and Kenny Carroll the key men along with goalkeeper Stephen O’Keeffe but they will miss top scorer James Dick who has returned to Australia.

Mateusz Nowakowski played and scored for Poland seniors during the summer and has shown signs of added sharpness in pre-season. Donal O’Mearain and Eoin MacArthur have full pre-seasons under their belt for the first time in a few years but injury will see Felim Kelly and Aran Rooney miss the first few games.

Kieran Springett will follow Fergal Keaveney and Mark English to Dublin from Perth once their season is complete down under while UCC duo Stuart O’Grady and Peter Catchpole look to be tidy additions.

Railway Union retain the same management for the third year. David Bane continues to mould this larger squad in his own image as a hard working side with plenty of flair. He is assisted by former first team coach, now first team manager Stewart O’Higgins.

Partners of The Hook