Lisnagarvey – Men’s EYHL preview

Last season’s: EYHL winners, Irish Senior Cup runners-up, EY Champions Trophy winners
Coaching team: Erroll Lutton (4th season as head coach); Bruce Agnew (assistant coach), Raymond Geddis (goalkeeping coach)

Players in: Peter McKibbin (Annadale)
Players Out: Andy Forrest (work commitments),  Michael Watt (Hampstead & Westminster, England)

Lisnagarvey will be aiming to repeat last year's EYHL success. Pic: Adrian Boehm

Lisnagarvey will be aiming to repeat last year’s EYHL success. Pic: Adrian Boehm

Overview: Last season’s runaway champions Lisnagarvey look well set to be major challengers once again with Rio trio Jonny Bell, Paul Gleghorne and Timmy Cockram joined in the panel by fellow internationals Neal Glassey, James Lorimer, Sean Murray and Daniel Buser. They will miss Michael Watt’s goals following his return to London to play with Hampstead & Westminster with whom he scored a hat trick on debut last weekend.

They also had seven players selected in the recent Irish U21 training panel for the 2017 European A division along with three Under-18 internationals – Matthew Nelson, Scott McCabe and Andrew O’Hare. Peter McKibbin is a strong addition to the back line from Annadale.

The target for this season is to replicate the consistency they showed last season and be amongst the contenders for the EYHL and Irish Senior Cup. The club will play in the EHL KO16 next April. Pre-season results have seen a draw with Banbridge followed by victories over Cookstown and Instonians.

Partners of The Hook