Fulton without Bann trio for Germany series

Ireland’s men face Olympic champions Germany this week in a three test series in Hamburg, at the home of UHC, with Craig Fulton bringing 20 members of his panel with him.

John Jackson. Pic: Adrian Boehm

John Jackson. Pic: Adrian Boehm

He will be without the Banbridge trio of Matthew Bell, Eugene Magee and Drew Carlisle who will line out for their club in the EuroHockey Club Champions Trophy in Glasgow with a possible second EHL place on the line should they claim victory.

David Harte is another who will miss the trip due to club commitments. He will be in Barcelona playing in the EHL’s FINAL4 for Kampong, lining out in the semi-final against Atletic Terrassa before a potential final against Harvestehuder THC or Amsterdam.

It means Mark Ingram comes into the fray as goalkeeping cover, joining David Fitzgerald in this panel for Hamburg. John Jackson is available for the trip despite sustaining a jaw injury recently.

Speaking about the upcoming series, coach Craig Fulton said: “They are in preparation for their Champions Trophy tournament which starts in early June. This is exactly the challenge our squad need as we start our summer training and international match schedule.”

The last time the sides faced each other was in London at the Eurohockey Championships in August 2015. Germany sealed the victory that day thanks to two late goals in the 4th quarter and ended the tournament with silver.

Fixture schedule (all times CET):
Thursday, May 12:
Germany v Ireland, 7.30pm
Friday, May 13: Germany v Ireland, 7.30pm
Sunday, May 15: Germany v Ireland, 12pm

Ireland squad for Germany series (May 12-15):
Jonny Bell (Lisnagarvey), Chris Cargo (Racing Club de Bruxelles), Timmy Cockram (Lisnagarvey), Lee Cole (Monkstown), Stephen Cole (Monkstown), Mitch Darling (Rotterdam), David Fitzgerald (Monkstown), Paul Gleghorne (Lisnagarvey), Kyle Good (Monkstown), Ronan Gormley (Krefeld), Mark Ingram (Pembroke), Conor Harte (Racing Club de Bruxelles), John Jackson (Reading), John Jermyn (Cork C of I), Shane O’Donoghue (Dragons), Alan Sothern (Pembroke), Michael Robson (Annadale), Kirk Shimmins (Pembroke), Michael Watt (Lisnagarvey), Gareth Watkins (Monkstown)

Non travelling reserves:
Neal Glassey, Stuart Loughrey, Peter Caruth

Not available:
Matthew Bell, Drew Carlisle, Eugene Magee, David Harte

Partners of The Hook