19 teams to contest masters Interpros

Leinster Women O-45s and Leinster Men O-40s are both set to defend their Interprovincial titles at home this weekend in the 2016 Masters Interprovincials at Three Rock Rovers’ Grange Road.

Indeed, 19 teams are taking part this year in 34 matches. The men have three sections: O-40s (three teams), O-45s (three teams), O-50s (four teams). The women have two pools: O-40s (four teams) and O-45s (five teams).
Coach Ross Harding takes charge of the Leinster O-40s women’s team this year bringing a squad with quality throughout the pitch and a number of players new to masters hockey join experienced performers. Captain Mairead D’Arcy and Vice Captain Noreen Dockery lead the squad.

The Leinster O-45s are headed by coach Guy Garrett with captain Kathryn Henderson and vice captain Aisling Field all set to defend their title won at last year’s event in Lisnagarvey. Gordon Watkins will be coaching the O-50s who again will play in the same pool as the O45s, creating some local rivalry.

The women’s event kicks off on Friday evening with the O-45s taking on Ulster O-45s, the O-50s playing Ulster O-50s at 7.15pm and the Leinster 40s opening their pool against Connacht at 8.30pm.

The next day sees early starts for the O-40s against Ulster and the O-50s against Munster O-45s at 9am, with the derby match Leinster O-45s and O-50s playing each other at 4.30pm.

Finally on Sunday, the Leinster 45s take on Ulster O-50s at 10:45am, the O50s play their final match against Ulster 45s at 12:00noon and the Leinster ladies final game is the O-40s in a tough game against Munster at 2:30pm.

The Leinster O-50s team includes a number of players from the successful Irish Masters O-50s team who recently brought home a silver medal from the World Cup in Canberra Australia: Orla Galvin, Jane Salter, Marian O’Brien, Annie Lawlor, Roly Burke, Joanne O’Grady and Maura O’Neill

Leinster Masters are also delighted to be welcoming a number of new players into all the Masters teams this year.
Women’s panels

Leinster O-40s:
Mary Harkin (GK), Susan Byrne (GK), Clara Chamberlayne, Kerry Johnson, Noreen Dockery(VC), Suzanne Davis, Emma Curry, Hazel Agar, Mairead D’Arcy (C), Nikki McMullan, Ciara Walsh, Fiona Connery, Fiona Sheerin, Rhona Walsh, Solo Krishman, Nikki Dignam, Wendy Cullen

Leinster O-45s:
Catherine Quirke GK, Aisling Field (VC), Paula O’Donoghue, Sarah Kavanagh, Sharon Burke, Kate Turley, Kathryn Henderson (C), Emma Meir, Grainne Millar, Hilary Long, Caroline Sharkey, Vanessa O’Reilly, Gillian Hohn, Amy Wyse, Becky Moffett.

Leinster O-50s:
Sinead Guilfoyle (GK), Linda Jenkinson (C), Bronwyn O’Donnell, Maura O’Neill, Orla Galvin, Alison Pigot Roly Burke, Jane Salter (VC), Joanne O’Grady, Marian O’Brien, Anne Kirwan, Angie Boran, Annie Lawlor, Joy Godkin, Edwina Mulcahy, Frances Keegan, Karen McCarthy, Marguerite Hughes

Partners of The Hook