Andrew’s defence plays a blinder in Senior Cup success; High School land pair of titles

Leinster Schoolboys Senior Cup final
St Andrew’s College 2 (B Walker, P Temperley) Wesley College 0
St Andrew’s claimed their fourth Leinster schoolboy’s Senior Cup title in the last five years as they executed a supremely organised defensive performance to see off Wesley College 2-0.

It meant Ben Walker’s brilliant diving touch in the fifth minute, combined with Patrick Temperley’s cool finish four minutes from the end won the day.

But it was their defence that won the day with Guy Sarratt organising matters with Ivan Cooke, Matteo Romoli and captain Robert Browne picking up the pieces as they made an impenetrable wall around the circle.

St Andrew's Senior Cup winning side.

St Andrew’s Senior Cup winning side.

It meant Wesley scarcely had a sight of Ben Bradley’s goal other than Daragh Walsh’s corner shot that pinged off the front of the post in the 21st minute. The Ballinteer outfit held plenty of ball but found the circle line almost impossible to break through without the attention of a defender.

Andrew’s got off to a brilliant start with James Walker leading the charge. His first foray forward was shut down by Luke Campion. His second run down the right, however, led to an inviting cross that his younger brother, Ben, leapt on to and deflected into the roof of the net.

Thereafter, the game resembled something of a maze of patience with neither side able to gather up a head of steam. Indeed, it remained 1-0 for the guts of the hour for the vast majority of the tie – in which several players were sin-binned – with only a handful of corners. With 11 minutes to go, Walsh had a low push zip just wide of the glove-side post.

Andrew’s, though, had a couple of key counter-attacks. Ross Quirke was set free but was caught by an important last ditch defender before James Walker, again, made another key incision. His crash ball, off a couple of ricochets, fell for Temperley to coolly slot in on his backhand the clinching goal

Earlier in the day, The High School won the Minor Cup for the first time with Harry Lynch’s corner goal before half-time the difference in a 1-0 win over St Andrew’s.

In the Senior Trophy, meanwhile, The High School were also victorious on a 3-1 scoreline. The first half was end to end but no goals accrued but High School soon made amends in the second period.

Following a super baseline run, the ball was worked back to Jake Pillow who calmly finished off for 1-0. Conor Empey’s powerful drag-flick made it two before James Coman got on the end of some excellent work by Will Anderson and Peter Lynch down the left baseline to dodge out of a few tackles, setting up the chance.

Mateusz Nowakowski pulled one back late in the game but High School were well set at 3-1 for the trophy.

** Front pic: Andrew Sarratt

St Andrew’s: M Maguire, D Shanahan, R Quirke, B Walker, I Cooke, J Little, P Temperley, M Romoli, J Walker, R Browne, G Sarratt, E Goode, H Craig, J Guilfoyle, B Bradley, C Shoebridge

Wesley College: L Campion, H MacMahon, A Barlow, S Hyland, J O’Grady, D Robinson, A Sykes, D Mawhinney, D Walsh, D Ellison, M Samuel, R McCollum, D Connelly, G Boothman, R Shirley, M Walker

The High School side that won the Minor Cup title

The High School side that won the Minor Cup title

Partners of The Hook