Ulster win women’s Over-40s as Leinster prevail in O-45s

Ulster took the title in the O-40s section of the women’s masters Interpros held at Lisnagarvey over the weekend with Leinster landing the O-45s crown.

In the former competition, coming into the last game, Ulster needed a win while a draw would have given Leinster the title. Ulster had earlier beaten Munster 4-0 and then had a hard fought battle with Connacht on Saturday evening.

The Ulster Over-40s winning side

The Ulster Over-40s winning side

Connacht had made all the running with Emma Glanville dominating and deservedly took the lead through Deirdre McDermott. But Ulster fought back and Netty Wilson got the equaliser a few minutes from the end.

Leinster had beaten both Connacht (2-0) and Munster (4-1) before the show down with Ulster. Leinster’s six goals were shared among the team with Emma Curry, Sarah Scott, Nikki McMullan, Loran Bagnall, Mairead D’Arcy and Hazel Agar all on the scoresheet.

However, they were unable to find their free-flowing game and scoring touch against a dogged Ulster side. Ulster won 2-1 and, despite taking off goalkeeper Mary Harkin in the dying minutes, Leinster were unable to find the equaliser and Ulster hung on to win the game and take the tournament honours.

In a very competitive O-45s section, Leinster narrowly took the title from Munster with both teams finishing on five points and a goal difference of +1.

Leinster took the title by virtue of having scored three goals against Munster’s two. They played out a 0-0 draw when they played each other.

Munster then went on to beat Ulster in a game where they defended well and then won a stroke off a penalty corner which Shirley Moore scored to win the game.

The Leinster 45s team that won their competition

The Leinster 45s team that won their competition

However, the Leinster 50s held Munster to a 1-1 draw in a very competitive match with no quarter given. Kathy Shaw gave Munster the lead from a well worked corner but Marian O’Brien equalised for the Leinster 50s finishing off a lovely through ball from Roly Burke.

The Leinster 45s had earlier beaten the Leinster 50s, Grainne Millar getting the winner two minutes from the end. The Leinster 45s then played out a 1-1 draw with Ulster, Alison Pigot getting the Leinster goal after Anne Snoddy had put Ulster ahead from a corner. The draw was enough to take the title from Munster on goals for.

Following on from the weekend, squads will be selected to represent Ireland at O-40s, O-45s and O-50s levels at the Home Nations in Wakefield, England from June 26-28 and at the Europeans in London from August 22-28.

Women’s O-40s: 1. Ulster (7 pts), 2. Leinster (6 pts), 3. Connacht (4 Pts), 4. Munster (0 pts)
Women’s O-45s: 1. Leinster (5 pts, GD = +1, GF = 3) 2. Munster (5 pts, GD = +1, GF = 2), 3. Ulster (4 pts), 4. Leinster 50s (1 pt).

Partners of The Hook