Kilkenny College win Marble City derby to retain title

Kilkenny College retained the South East Senior Schoolgirls Cup title with a 2-0 win over city rivals Loreto Kilkenny at the Granges Road.

It was a tie between two contrasting styles with an illness-stricken College winning out with their measured approach countered by Loreto’s fast running game. The highlight was the tussle for midfield control between Brona Cadogan of Loreto and Emma Duncan in which the honours were evenly shared.

In the end, a lack of experience told when College proved to be better at set piece play, scoring twice from penalty corners, although Loreto had the higher number of corners awarded. Catherine Geoghegan and Lauren Thomas scored one each, paving the way for another appearance for the school at the Kate Russell finals, in which they featured so strongly last year.

The Kilkenny College South East Senior Cup winning team

The Kilkenny College South East Senior Cup winning team

They join Leinster champions St Andrew’s in the competition following their victory last Friday along with Connacht’s Salerno and Lurgan HS from Ulster.

Salerno were 2-0 winners over Colaiste Iognaid last Friday in their final while Lurgan saw off Rainey Endowed. They will represent the northern province for the third time in four years following their 1-0 win last Wednesday.

Julie Morrow score the winner from a contentious penalty corner in the first period of extra time, calmly slipping past Rebecca Allen.

In Munster, Crescent and Mount Mercy will meet this Friday in their provincial final in Villiers.

Back on home soil, there was joy for Cross and Passion, Kilcullen this afternoon as they claimed their first ever hockey trophy with a 2-0 win against Wesley College in the Junior D final at Grange Road. Leinster U-16 captain Miah Phelan was on the mark along with Susan Dunne.

Our Lady’s Terenure won the Junior One league with a victory on penalties after normal time and extra time could not separate them and St Columba’s. Rathdown won the Junior B league with a 1-0 win over Mount Anville.

Kilkenny College: E Duncan (capt) C Cassin (GK), A Caldbeck (GK), C Holmes, J Dick, K Willis, C Geoghegan, D Young, R Mahon, E McGrath, L Cope, L Minion, L Thomas, K Thompson, C Forbes, S Young, K Raeburn
Coach: Richard Willis

Loreto Kilkenny: A Prendergast (capt, GK), E Brennan, S Quinlan, F Johnson, A Morrissey, S Lanigan, B Cadogan, N Phelan, E McMullan, N McMullan, M Caldbeck, C Huston, L Greene, M Delaney, M Doheny, S Browne, C Manning
Coach: David Harrington.

Leinster Schoolgirl’s finals
Junior 1:
Our Lady’s, Terenure 0 St Columba’s 0, Our Lady’s win 2-1 on penalties
Junior B: Rathdown 1 Mount Anville 0
Junior D: Cross and Passion, Kilcullen 2 (M Phelan, S Dunne) Wesley College 0

School Girls Premier Section A