Borland announces high quality Leinster U-18 panel

Gareth Borland has named a side packed with senior team experience with all 18 of his final Leinster U-18 squad having played either in division one or two this season.

They are hopeful of recording their second interprovincial title as a group with 13 of this side having lined out two years ago at Under-16 level when the blues took the crown on goal difference ahead of Ulster.

The Leinster U-16 side that won the Interprovincial title in 2011, the majority of whom are in this year's U-18 panel Pic: Stephen Findlater

The Leinster U-16 side that won the Interprovincial title in 2011, the majority of whom are in this year’s U-18 panel Pic: Stephen Findlater

Six players are back for a second year from the Leinster team that completed a clean sweep of wins last year with goalkeepers Hugh Lavery and Jamie Carr both available again while Glenanne duo Neil Byrne and Stu Ronan along with Jazze Henry and Jack Ryan also in the mix.

Carr and Henry are among a group of six All-Ireland Schoolboy’s champions from St Andrew’s while four of the Wesley side that played them in the final join them in the panel.

Among them is Luke Madeley who missed last year through injury but top-scored at Under-16 level with Jack Ryan – who was also among the goals at U-18s last year. Among the newcomers to this group are Clontarf’s John Mullins, Avoca’s Richard Couse and YMCA’s Andrew Meates while Stu Ronan and Jamie Carr played U-18s last year but were not involved at U-16 level.

Speaking about the squad, manager Ronan Walsh said that the quality of player at this level made selection “almost an impossible task”.

The tournament takes place in Mossley’s grounds in Newtownabbey from November 22 to 24.

Leinster U-18 squad: Jamie Carr (St Andrews/Monkstown), Hugh Lavery (Sandford Park/Pembroke), Luke Madeley (Wesley/TRR), Ben McCrea (Wesley/TRR), Keith O’Hare (Sutton Park School/Suttonians), Ziggy Agnew (St Andrews/Avoca), Darragh Walsh (Wesley/TRR), David Nolan (St Andrews/Monkstown), Jazze Henry (St Andrews/Monkstown), Johnny McCormack (Newpark/TRR), Neil Byrne (St Columcilles/Glenanne), Richard Couse (St Andrews/Avoca), Stu Ronan (Wesley/ Glenanne), Freddie Morris (St Columbas/TRR), Jack Ryan (Sutton Park School/Suttonians), Andrew Meates (St Andrews/ YMCA), John Mullins (Mount Temple/Clontarf), Andrew Ramsey (Newpark/Avoca)
Reserves: Sam Grace (Kilkenny College/TRR), Scott Dagg (Wesley College)

Coach: Gareth Borland
Assistant coach: Scott Beattie
Manager: Ronan Walsh

Partners of The Hook