UCD land second Varsity double in three years

A hat-trick of drag-flicks from Cork man Nick Burns helped UCD claim their second Mauritius Cup intervarsity title in three years.

The Belfielders came from two goals down to see off DIT 3-2, a satisfying Dublin derby win against an invitational side laden with Irish international talent like Kyle Good, Lee and Stephen Cole and Richard Sykes.

Their women held up their end of the bargain to replicate the college’s double success in 2011, defeating University of Ulster 3-1 in the Chilean Cup final, avenging a group stage defeat in the process.

The victorious UCD Mauritius Cup winning team Pic: UCD MHC facebook page

The victorious UCD Mauritius Cup winning team Pic: UCD MHC facebook page

Aisling Naughton got the first goal for Jonny Harte’s team. Anna O’Flanagan made it 2-0 to UCD which was the half time score. Emily Beatty got the third before Vanessa Surgenor got what proved to be a consolation for UU.

UCC avoided relegation to the plate with big wins in both men’s and women’s competitions, seeing off DCU 8-1 and NUIG 10-0, respectively.

In the plate finals, two goals from Jean Devoy goals and a Steph Peters strike helped UL see off IT Tallaght 3-0 in the Chilean plate. IT Tallaght defeated CIT on sudden death penalty strokes after a 3-3 draw in the Mauritius plate, a tense shootout requiring 18 penalties before reaching a conclusion.

** Dublin City FM’s Declan Hughes was there for the duration of the weekend; here is a round-up of his interviews featuring Ricky Lee (UU), Michelle Weber (UU), Stephanie Jameson (UU), David Keogh (IT Tallaght), Kyle Good (DIT), Rory O’Donoghue (UCD men), Sarah Greene (UCD women), Gerry Hamill (UU), Jonny Harte (UCD women), Chris Blaney (IUCHA President) and Roger West (Tournament co-ordinator)

Irish Unis and Colleges triallists 2013/14
Men: Ben Epstein, Jason Rogan (NUIM), Nathan Eacrett, Trevor Gray (UL), Sam O’Connor (ITT), Andrew Daunt, Philip Sweetnam (CIT), David Storey (RCSI), Stephen West (GK), Stephen Brownlow, Luke Hayden (DCU), Scott Sullivan, Mark Loughrey, Lee Cole, Simon McKeever (DIT), Sliabh Wells (GK), Ben Dobson, Nick Burns, Luke Chadwick, Jeremy Duncan (UCD), Stuart O’Grady, Gary Wilkinson, Fionn O’Leary, Peter Catchpole, Adam O’Callaghan (UCC), Ben McMillan (GK), Matthew Rollins, Andrew Shekleton, Jordan Robinson, Adam McGann, Owen Magee, Andrew Williamson (UU), Tom Harris, Andrew McKibbin (QUB), Connor Montgomery, Aran Rooney, Geoff Garrett, Stephen Ludgate (TCD).

Irish internationals who will also be invited to trial: Kyle Good, Stephen Cole, Richard Sykes (DIT), Shane O’Donoghue, Kirk Shimmins, Peter Brown (UCD), Jason Lynch (UU).

Women: Rachel Tyner (NUIM), Yvonne O’Byrne (CIT), Carley Baker (ITT), Zita McAllister, Cliona Sheehy (RCSI), Elaine O’Flynn (GK), Steph Peters (UL), Vera Taaffe, Anne May Whelan, Avril Dooley O’Carroll, Sophie Marshall (TCD), Hannah Matthews, Rachel O’Brien, Katie Codyre (DCU), Antonia McGrath, Aine Curran, Amy-Kate Trevor (UCC), Freddie Timmins, Amy Rossiter, Tara Melvin (NUIG), Tiffany Ellis (GK), Leah Ewart, Caroline Hill, Aisling Naughton, Elaine Carey, Jeamie Deacon (UCD), Katie Morris, Hannah McMillan, Robyn McKee, Julie Allison (QUB), Gemma Frazer, Kirstie Lammey, Vanessa Surgeoner, Chloe Brown, Stephanie Jameson, Sarah McClure (UU).

Irish internationals who will also be invited to trial: Miriam Crowley (UCC), Nicola Gray, Nikki Evans, Brenda Flannery, Katie Mullan, Anna O’Flanagan, Emily Beatty, Sarah Greene (UCD), Sammy-Jo Greer (GK, QUB), Grace O’Flanagan (GK, RCSI)

Partners of The Hook