Sackville take home Senior Plate: schoolgirl’s finals round-up

Leinster Schoolgirl’s finals round-up
Senior Plate final: Mt Sackville 2 (S Boucher, S Hawkshaw) St Gerards 1 (S Delahunt)

Sarah Hawkshaw’s thumping penalty corner drive 12 minutes from time saw Mount Sackville retain the Leinster Schoolgirl’s Senior Plate at Grange Road, coming from a goal down to defeat St Gerard’s.

It was hard earned from a cracking final that swung each way throughout the hour before the Castleknock side eventual pushed the pendulum their way. Early on, Sarah Webb almost found daylight behind the back of Gerard’s defence inside a minute only for Elena Tice to brilliantly slide in a tackle and guide the ball to safety,

Her side gradually grew into the tie and were in front from their first corner which Susie Delahunt smacked home from the top but Sackville were not long in bouncing back. Webb was twice more denied while Aoife Jordan was also blocked by a quick-thinking slide from the Bray side’s goalkeeper.

It was level, though, when Sophie Boucher flipped the ball home from a narrow angle after two initial saves were not fully cleared, making it 1-1 at half-time.

Hawkshaw completed the turnaround from her side’s first penalty corner, capping a virtuoso display in midfield and up front but Gerard’s were not done yet with Bryony Biggam to the fore while underage international Claire Foley was also to the fore.

The pressure continued to build, culminating in a final hooter penalty corner but Emer Byrne applied a strong boot to safety to secure the title.

St Gerard’s: S Cannon, L Gilmore, C Foley, S O’Loughlin, B Biggam, S Delahunt, E Tice, A Boyd, L McNamee, M O’Neill, C Byrne, L Gallagher, A Brennan, V Looby, H Reynolds, S O’Brien
Mount Sackville: E Byrne, H Barr, S Daly, C Fullston, S Boucher, J Bruton, S Marron, S Hawkshaw, A Jordan, A O’Connor, S Carty, A Sullivan, S Webb

Junior Plate final
Muckross 2 (Kelsey Clarke, Rachel McAuley) Newbridge 0

Second half goals from Kelsey Clarke and Rachel McAuley saw Muckross land the Junior Plate as they battled to see off a defensively gritty Newbridge side.

They survived seven penalty corners before captain Clarke put her side in front, applying a resounding first time finish to Christine Cullen’s right wing cross. And, from an eighth Muckross corner, Rachel McAuley slammed home from a switch left.

Newbridge: H Begley, L Stapleton, N Crowe, L Hannon(capt), N Briody, C Murphy, R Crowe, E O’Neill, L Scully, R McMullen, K Hannon, K Cross, A Tutty-Bardon, C Kiely, N Dwyer, B Coreless

Muckross: C Feeley, H Barrow, E Clarke, K Clarke, N Ferry, A McNulty, L Shaw, A Callahan, E McDonagh, R McAuley, K Grennan, N Dowling, C Cullen, E McGrane

Minor C League final:
Mt Anville 3 (Sarah Farrell, Amy Barrett, Isobel Murray) Mt Sackville 0


School Girls Premier Section A