Mount Anville claim sixth Leinster schoolgirl’s title to cap fine year

Mount Anville’s minor A side closed out the Leinster schoolgirl’s season with a 2-0 win over Alexandra College on Friday in Grange Road, claiming the last of the 22 titles on offer this year.

Katie Ronan finished off a nicely worked penalty corner move in the first half, switched right then to the flick spot before it was redirected to the left post where she popped the ball in.

Captain Claudia Cotter grabbed the second after the interval to complete the win, capping a fine performance down the right wing. It sealed her school’s sixth title of a productive year with the senior side in a position to potentially add to the tally when they travel to Kilkenny next Thursday for the Kate Russell All-Ireland championships.

Earlier on Friday, St Andrew’s beat the Goatstown school in the Senior Two league final, netting with the final touch of the game for a 2-1 win.

Rathdown’s excellent year at senior level saw their second team annex the Senior 3 title wih a 2-0 win over Loreto, Beaufort’s fourth team. At Senior 4 level, St Andrew’s fifth team, meanwhile, saw off Tullamore’s second team.

Katie Doyle set Mount Anville on course for Junior C success as they built a 2-0 lead early on against Alexandra College and kept them at bay despite a late charge from the Milltown side, the tie ending 2-1.

Leinster Schoolgirl’s honour roll
Senior Cup:
Winners – Mount Anville; runners-up – Rathdown
Senior Premier League: Winners – Wesley College; runners-up – High School
Claudia Tierney Cup: Winners – Mount Anville; runners-up – Alexandra College
Senior Plate: Winners – Mount Sackville; runners-up – St Gerard’s
Senior 1 League: Winners – St Kilian’s; runners-up – Mount Temple
Senior 2 League: Winners – St Andrew’s; runners-up – Mount Anville
Senior 3 League: Winners – Rathdown 2; runners-up – Beaufort 4
Senior 4 League: Winners – St Andrew’s 5; runners-up – Tullamore 2

Junior Cup: Winners – High School; runners-up – Holy Child Killiney
Junior A League: Winners – St Gerard’s; runners-up – High School
Junior Plate: Winners – Muckross; runners-up – Newbridge College
Junior B League: Winners – Loreto Foxrock; runners-up – Mount Sackville
Junior C League: Winners – Mount Anville; runners-up – Alexandra College
Junior D League: Winners – Foxrock D; runners-up – Jesus and Mary College B

Minor A Cup: Winners – Wesley College; runners-up – Mount Anville
Minor A League: Winners – Mount Anville; runners-up – Alexandra College
Minor A Plate: Winners – St Gerard’s; runners-up – Holy Child Killiney
Minor B League: Winners – Santa Sabina A; runners-up – Mount Anville B
Minor C League: Winners – Mount Anville C; runners-up – Mount Sackville C
Minor D League: Winners – Manor House A; runners-up – Muckross D

First Year A League: Winners – Beaufort; runners-up – St Andrew’s College
First Year B League: Winners – Mount Anville; runners-up – St Andrew’s College

School Girls Premier Section A