Classy Lurgan soar to second Kate Russell in three years

Kate Russell All-Ireland Schoolgirl’s Championships, day two
Lurgan claimed the Kate Russell All-Ireland schoolgirls championship in Kilkenny College, seeing off the hosts 2-0 in the final game of the competition to complete a second win in three years.

Close range goals from Ellen Mullen and co-captain Chloe McCann did the damage as they completed a fourth win from four games, bumping the home team into second place.

Earlier in the day, Lurgan had overcome Crescent Comprehensive 4-0 while Kilkenny ousted Colaiste Iognaid 4-1 to maintain their perfect records, setting up an all or nothing title decider.


But, after initial resistance, the Ulster champions duly took control with a calm, assured performance despite a freak injury to Hannah Grieve, the Irish U-18 captain.

Her knee gave way whilst celebrating her side’s opening goal in the 24th minute, a nasty injury that meant she played no further part in proceedings.

That goal came from a re-awarded penalty corner after the first effort had been dinged onto the post by Serena Barr who, along with her twin sister, Bethany, was among the stars of the tournament.

At the second time of asking, the ball was switched left to Barr again and she picked out the waiting Mullen on the right post to put away the lead goal.


From there, her side turned the screw, forcing Kilkenny onto the back foot. They had sporadic breaks with Amanda Haslam’s pace a regular threat but there was no way back once Bethany Barr tore through the middle before finding McCann at the back post to slot home with 17 minutes remaining.

Mount Anville took third place in thrilling fashion as they initially burst into a 2-0 lead against Crescent before falling 3-2 behind. A Jane Fennelly corner strike and an own goal in the closing stages saw them swing the pendulum back their way to conclude an impressive year winning both the Leinster Cup and the Claudia Tierney Cup title.

Kate Russell All-Ireland Schoolgirl’s Championships, day two results: Lurgan 4 (S Barr 2, H Grieve, K Edgar) Crescent Comp 0; Mount Anville 2 (A Marsh, R O’Carroll) Colaiste Iognaid 2 (A Codyre, I Murphy); Kilkenny 4 (N Fryday, E Duncan, C Holmes, R Jackson) Colaiste Iognaid 1 (A Codrye); Mount Anville 4 (G Spillane, A Marsh, J Fennelly, og) Crescent 3 (C Moloney 2, N Power); Lurgan 2 (E Mullen, C McCann) Kilkenny College 0

Final standings: 1. Lurgan College 12pts (+14) 2. Kilkenny College 9pts (+4) 3. Mount Anville 4pts (-4) 4. Crescent Comprehensive 3pts (-4) 5. Colaiste Iognaid 1pt (-9)


School Girls Premier Section A