Andrew’s the Leinster leaders in All-Ireland final

All-Ireland Schoolboys Championships final
St Andrew’s 3 (J Larmour, D Nolan, L Cole) Wesley 1 (I Stewart)

St Andrew’s claimed their third All-Ireland Schoolboys championship as their experience proved too much for a young Wesley side in the competition’s final in Lisnagarvey in a repeat of the 2008 final.

Final quarter goals from David Nolan and Lee Cole were decisive in making it a repeat of that vintage when Cian Speers lifted the shield as Andrew’s knocked on the head Wesley’s attempted comeback after Ian Stewart cancelled out Jordan Larmour’s opening goal, capping a well controlled performance.

They were deserving winners, holding sway for much of the tie with Cole central to matters while skipper Mark Loughrey was imperious at the back before his departure due to a facial injury which required a trip to St James’ Hospital.

Loughrey’s Pembroke club mate Kirk Shimmins, though, had the first sniff of goal when he fizzed a reverse just off target inside the the opening two minutes. But Andrew’s were shifting the ball well while they reduced the regular emotional element that normally marks their ties with Wesley.

In last year’s two Leinster finals, cards were a regular feature but controversy, as such, was at a minimum this time around. U-16 international Larmour had them in front in the eighth minute as Ben Campbell marauded down the right wing, doing all the spadework and opening up a simple line to goal.

In response, Shimmins fired another effort just wide while Cole had one drag-flick taken off the line by Neil Pelow in unorthodox fashion. The Andrew’s pressure continued in the second period, with a sustained barrage but with that storm weathered, they burst into life in the second half when James O’Donovan created the leveller for Stewart with 20 minutes to go.

Respite was brief, though, as turnover ball on the 25 was quickly transferred across the circle with Cillian Hynes selflessly picking out David Nolan to walk the ball in. Eight minutes from time, Cole whipped home a low drag-flick and Andrew’s were home and hosed. In between, Loughrey took a blow to the face, meaning he was unable to lift the trophy, the honours handed to Cole to lift the Tasmanian shield.

St Andrews: J Carr, M Loughrey, B Campbell, G Brown , J Henry, A Service, E Foy, L Cole, C Hynes, J Larmour, D Nolan
Subs: R Hohn, W King, E Buttanshaw, A Bailey, R Couse

Wesley: L Micklem, B McCrea, N Pelow, D Winn, J Dayrmple, K Eickstedt, K Shimmins, I Stewart, D Williams J Roberts, D Walsh
Subs: A Oglesby, J O’Donovan, D Shirley, S Ronan, S Dagg

Partners of The Hook