TRR claim third U-16 title in four years; Alex and Hermes also junior Jacqui Potter winners

Benny Atkinson U-16 Boy’s Cup final
Three Rock Rovers 7 (Luke Madeley 2, Scott Roberts 2, Harry Morris, Fred Morris, Johnny Dalrymple) YMCA 1 (Ben Campbell)

Three Rock Rovers’ U-16s claimed their third Benny Atkinson Cup title in four years last Monday at Grange Road as they were far too strong for YMCA.

It took just 17 seconds for skipper Harry Morris to put them ahead, racing through down the right channel from tip-off to net the opening goal and his side never looked back. Younger brother Freddie made it 2-0 soon after before Luke Madeley notched the third goal just before half-time from a penalty corner.

Madeley added a fourth from another set-piece soon after the break to continue his superb recent record. He scored the winning goal for his school, Wesley College , in the Senior League as well as being on the mark in the school’s Junior Cup.

Ben Campbell pulled one back with a neatly taken volley but late efforts from Johnny Dalrymple and a pair from Scott Roberts in the closing five minutes completed a 7-1 rout. The side will now look to push on in the league where they have a 100pc record to date.

YMCA: L Micklem, B Campbell, P Mawhinney, A Meates, F Kelly, P Sheerin, A Jones, E Connolly, P Menzies, J Wilson, A Mullen, A Price, E Prehn, J Byrne, F Schonfeld, H MacMahon
Coach: A Dale
TRR: S Dawson, L Madeley, E Buttanshaw, D Walsh, D Williams, E Garland, B McCrea, H Morris, J McCormack, S Dagg, J Dalrymple, F Morris, R McGuinness, A Keane, J Walker, S Roberts
Coach: J Hosking
Umpires: T Hipwell, R Hanna

Jacqui Potter U-16 Cup final
Old Alex 2 (Amber Gleeson 2) Corinthian 1 (Ailbhe Marsh)

Amber Gleeson’s pair of thumping first half strikes proved critical in one of the highest quality underage games of the season. Corinthian hit the front in brilliant fashion as Ailbhe Marsh struck on the counter, taking the ball from halfway at pace, drifting right before cracking home early with a high finish.

It came in the 19th minute but Alex, with Anna Roopnarinesingh applying the style from right-mid, were back level within a minute when Gleeson was on the end of a corner switched to the right and she whacked into the corner.

Emma Duncan set up Gleeson’s second just before the break, working her an angle down the left channel. It proved the last of the scoring but there was still plenty to recommend the tie in which Corinthian applied more of the second half pressing. Sara Quill’s innovative deflection shot just over while Helene Peters’ power from the right created plenty of pressure but an equaliser was not forthcoming.

Old Alexandra: C Crampton, R Gray, V Winn, C Spain, M O’Donnell, A Gleeson, R Lenehan, E Duncan, E Beirne, A Roopnarinesingh, L McPhillips, L Wolfe, M Phelan, L McCollum, M Carroll, E Telford
Coach: M Tennant-Humphreys

Corinthian: A Carragher, S O’Donoghue, A Kinlin, E Conheady, S Burns, A Long, E Reid, S O’Leary, I Lynam, A Owens, A Marsh, M O’Connor, S Quill, H McKay, H Peters, E Canning
Coach: F Keary
Umpires: F Davitt, A Keogh

Jacqui Potter U-16 Plate final
Hermes 1 (Sarah Twomey) Genesis 1 (Emer Sweeney), Hermes won 4-2 on penalties

Hermes took a dramatic success in the Jacqui Potter U-16 Plate as they denied Genesis the title just 90 seconds from time as Emer Sweeney’s goal stood between the sides for most of the game. She had given her side the advantage in the first half but Sarah Twomey popped up with an excellent deflection to Sarah Patton’s hit from the injector’s spot at a penalty corner to force extra time.

She had previously been denied by a brilliant Niamh Lawless save from a similar position, getting across goal to knee away a rising effort. It looked to have held the fort until the late leveller and no further goals in extra-time led to penalty strokes.

Hermes’ keeper Rhona Conway Kenny saved first up and another stop later on put them in good stead against their Galloping Green neighbours as they potted all four of their strokes to claim the title for the second year running – the only team to win it since it was introduced last season.

Genesis: N Lawless, M Cole, E O’Farrell, K Hedderman, E Courtney, R McDonnell, E Dayman, G McKenna, E Sweeney, S Murphy, M O’Grady, S Vaughan, N Phelan, J Cleary, C Fulston, A McKenna, S Collins, N Cassidy
Hermes: R Conway Kenny, M Geary, M McCarthy, E Daly, R Delaney, S Patton, S Twomey, S Reinhardt, J O’Brien, C O’Connor, H Marshall, K McGrath, L McGrath, Z O’Neill, R Feehan, J Harte

Umpires: G Hohn, K Chadwick

Partners of The Hook