Sarratt leads by example in Saints success

U-13 Schoolboy’s Cup final
St Andrew’s College 3 (Guy Sarratt 2, Charlie Bracken) Wesley College 0

A dominant first-half performance laid the platform for St Andrew’s to claim the Leinster U-13 Schoolboys Cup at a sun-drenched Grange Road. Captain Guy Sarratt led by example in scoring two gorgeous goals in as many minutes to give his side a comfortable buffer before Charlie Bracken added a late clincher.

That was very much required to ease their nerves as Wesley had recovered to threaten more in the second-half, only for some misdirected push-outs to hamper their efforts at short corner time.

Sarratt had the game’s first shot in anger, firing high at Michael Herlihy but the Wesley netminder was equal to the task. But it was the Andrew’s defense who had to be sharpest to repel a pair of Wesley short corners, coming off Gavin Gibney’s superb 50-metre solo run, as Sam Hyland’s drag-flick and a switch to Sean Foudy were both stifled.

Andrew’s began to build pressure again and went in front with a goal of real class. Adam Larmour collected a crash ball and laid off to Sarratt, who dragged left around his marker before reversing to far top corner.

He pulled hard to first-time Elliott Goode’s cross to the backboard two minutes later, and Andrew’s were well in control at the break.

They also got a lot of change out of an aggressive press that yielded one-on-ones for Goode and Neill Farrugia, but again Herlihy was on hand to snuff them out with the aid of skipper Daire Connolly.

But Andrew’s made it safe with seven minutes to go, breaking clear from a defensive corner as Alex Wann left a few retreating Wesley players for dead and slipped through to Bracken, who slid the ball under the advancing Herlihy.

** Words with thanks to Southern Fried Hockey’s Alan Good

St Andrew’s: Ben Bradley (GK); Daniel Walker, Harry Sutton, Ivan Cooke, John Guilfoyle, Harry Craige, Guy Sarratt (capt), Alex Wann, Adam Larmour, Neill Farrugia, Charlie Bracken, Elliott Goode, Andrew Blair White, Brian Cornella, Matt McCann, Gavin McDaid.

Wesley: Michael Herlihy (GK); David Mawhinney, Andrew Sykes, Daire Connolly, Matthew McConnell, Harry MacMahon, Sam Hyland, Jack O’Grady, Sean Foudy, Gavin Gibney, Kyle Douglas, David Robinson, Josh Reid, Cian Evers, Daniel Elison-Moore, Grant Arnott (GK).

Partners of The Hook