Bulls trample on Badger set but Chiefs routed

Clontarf continued their awesome recent form to make it into the final four of the Irish Hockey Trophy, the last Leinster team standing after the Rathgar Chiefs were trumped by UCC.

Tom Noonan’s quadruple was the catalyst for the Bulls at the Badger set as Navan were unable to cope with the former Skerries’ man.

He netted three times before the interval, his first being the pick of them as his close control set him up nicely to reverse home.

Gareth Borland got the other first half strike from play to make it 4-0 while Cain Cooney’s fine deflection to Robert Forrest’s reverse-stick cross was another fine adornment on the scoreline for a half-dozen.

The Chiefs, though, blew a 3-1 half-time advantage at High School as Fionn O’Leary’s last gasp goal won the day for UCC on a 4-3 scoreline.

Roger Gray’s drag-flick handed the southern visitors an early lead but Cian Denham’s deflection, an excellent Jonny Orr half-volley on the counter and Daire Coady’s smashed corner rebound had the Chiefs 3-1 up.

But a mazy Roger Gray dribble burned off a number of tacklers to get his side back in the game and Andy Gray made it 3-3 from the penalty spot.

A yellow card each for not retreating ratcheted up the tension. The sin-binning of the Chiefs’ Orr proved the pivotal one as in his absence Gray’s Andy and Roger exchanged a one-two and played in O’Leary to take the win. Belfast Harlequins also made it into the semi-finals with a 2-0 win over Portadown.

The draw will be made on Sunday at the National Basketball Arena during the indoor final’s day. Fingal, meanwhile, will play Cookstown in the last eight of the Irish Senior Cup following the Co Tyrone side’s 4-3 victory over Cork C of I in Garryduff.

Corinthian bowed out of the men’s Irish Junior as they were knocked out by Annadale despite goals from Robbie Byrnes and Wesley Rothwell. Dale will host Glenanne in the next round while Banbridge will play Bangor following their 8-1 success over Bandon.

Mullingar kept hopes of a second Irish Hockey Challenge final appearance alive when they got the better of Naas 3-1, Wayne Gilhooley, Holgar Marl and Chris Bull hitting the target.

Nasir Munir and Ralph Billings both hit four to help Portrane to an 11-0 victory while Kilkenny are still alive thanks to a 1-0 win over PSNI.

On the women’s side, North Kildare picked up the big result in the women’s Irish Hockey Trophy as Joanne O’Reilly’s pair guided them to a 3-0 win over Cookstown.

Men’s Irish Senior Cup, second round: Cork C of I 3 Cookstown 4 (Greg Allen 2, Andy Barbour, Thomas Hutchinson)
Men’s Irish Junior Cup, second round: Annadale 3 (Daniel Nicholl, David Nicholl, Gareth Saunders) Corinthian 2 (Robbie Byrnes, Wesley Rothwell); Banbridge 8 (Philip Doyle 2, Douglas Anderson, Dave McAnulty, Jonathan Burns, Ciaran Kelly, Rory Woods, Colin McKnight) Bandon 1

Men’s Irish Hockey Trophy, quarter-finals: Navan 0 Clontarf 6 (Tom Noonan 4, Gareth Borland, Cain Cooney); Rathgar Chiefs 3 (Cian Denham, Jonny Orr, Daire Coady) UCC 4 (Roger Gray 2, Andy Gray, Fionn O’Leary); Belfast Harlequins 2 Portadown 0; South Antrim 2 Antrim 0

Women’s Irish Hockey Trophy, second round: Lisnagarvey 1 (Laura Johnston) Omagh 0; Suttonians 0 Bandon 2; NICS 1 Dromore 2; NUIG 1 Portadown 5; Cookstown 0 North Kildare 3 (Joanne O’Reilly 2, Sarah O’Neill); Muckross 0 Victorians 1 (Rachel Cranson)
First Round: Ashton 5 Wexford 2

Men’s Irish Hockey Challenge, quarter-finals: Naas 1 Mullingar 3 (Wayne Gilhooley, Chris Bull, Holgar Marl); Portrane 11 (Ralph Billings 4, Nasir Munir 4, Richard Tector, Matthew Tector, T Fujit) Down 0; Ballymena 3 (P McKeown 3) Portrush 2 (John Dillon, David Price)
First round: Kilkenny 1 (Emmett Hughes) PSNI 0

ESB Women’s Irish Hockey Challenge: Banbridge 1 Limerick 2; Dungarvan 3 Monkstown 1 aet

Partners of The Hook