The FIH have announced seven changes to the Rules of Hockey for international competition which will come into effect on January 1, 2011. These are the following changes which will be amended:
- Rule 9.15: “players must not force an opponent into offending unintentionally”. This rule will be deleted.
- Rule 13.1: the location of a free hit – this former Mandatory Experimental Rule becomes a full Rule of Hockey.
- Rule 13.1.d: “a free hit awarded inside the circle to the defence is taken anywhere inside the circle or up to 15 metres from the back-line in line with the location of the offence, parallel to the side-line”. The option of taking the free hit “anywhere inside the circle” is deleted.
- Rule 13.2: taking a free hit, centre pass and putting the ball back into play after it has been outside the field. This former Mandatory Experimental Rule becomes a full Rule of Hockey.
- Rule 13.3.h: “taking a penalty corner … until the ball has been played, no attacker other than the one taking the push or hit from the back-line is permitted to enter the circle”. When an attacker enters the circle before permitted, the penalty corner is taken again except that when attackers persistently enter the circle before permitted, a free hit is awarded to the defence. In the full printed set of Rules, the penalties which apply for an offence during the taking of a penalty corner will be listed in detail.”
- Rule 13.9.a: “for an offence during the taking of a penalty stroke. If the stroke is taken before the whistle has been blown and a goal is scored, it is taken again.”
- Rule 13.9.c: “for an offence during the taking of a penalty stroke … for any other offence by the player defending the stroke which prevents a goal being scored”. Instead of a goal being awarded, the penalty stroke is taken again. This means that Rules 13.9.c and 13.9.d both now lead to the penalty stroke being taken again.
* If you have any queries on any of the above changes for The Hook’s resident umpiring expert, Ray O’Connor, do not hesitate to leave either a comment below or send an email to email@example.com
8 Responses to “FIH announces several rule changes for 2011”
August 14, 2010 10:28 pm F1 says
9.15 being deleted! Outraged. How am I meant to get one up on the umpires now? Although, it wasn’t blown all that much anyway, so it won’t make a huge difference to the game.
None of the other rule changes really do an awful lot, except reaffirm what should happen during a set piece. 13.1.d makes little difference, rather then take it from anywhere within the circle, you can only take in line with where the incidence occured. Not going to have a huge effect on the players, as it’s generally what happened anyway.
As for the penalty goal. Was that even ever given?
August 15, 2010 2:38 pm Hey you! says
Regarding rule – Rule 13.9.c: “for an offence during the taking of a penalty stroke … for any other offence by the player defending the stroke which prevents a goal being scored”. Instead of a goal being awarded, the penalty stroke is taken again. This means that Rules 13.9.c and 13.9.d both now lead to the penalty stroke being taken again
Does this mean a goalkeeper can continuously come off his line and inflict mind games on the taker. As a goalkeeper if so, great but i do think this is a little unfair!
August 15, 2010 7:56 pm F1 says
If a keeper continually comes off his line there’s still the option to give him a card, which could see him to the sideline. I’m sure a warning of “next time you’re off” should be enough to keep him from doing so. It’s unlikely that a keeper will save 2/3 in a row without the goal being scored anyway
August 15, 2010 11:00 pm Hey you! says
Sorry forgot about the whole card thing.
August 16, 2010 2:06 am JuSts says
Finally the banter has returned
August 16, 2010 9:15 am NIALL ROCHE says
WHAT A GOOD START TO YOUR NEW FORMAT.
I AM NOW AWARE OF RULE CHANGES/REVISION BEFORE SEEING
THE CURRENT ISSUE OF THE RULE BOOK.KEEP THE RESIDENT
UMPIRE ON THE BOOKS.
KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK.
August 16, 2010 10:28 am Shocked says
The Stroke is only taken again if the Keeper comes off his line and saves it, if the striker still scores no need to retake.
August 27, 2010 3:19 pm Chris the umpire says
I gave a penalty goal when the GK saved a stroke with the back of his stick – now it has to be retaken; how fair is that?
The rule about GK coming off the line is still the same, retake and Green for first offence then retake and yellow.
Good to have the self-pass locked in and I agree all the others are marginal although some knowledgeable defenders would take a free hit in the D to the other side for a quick take and up the wing.
Launched in August 2007, The Hook has set out to provide news and information for hockey in Leinster. The site has developed since then to cover all levels of the sport in Ireland and beyond, providing stories on schools, club, interprovincial and international. Working in tandem with the superb Irish Hockey Photographers, The Hook aims to offer the best coverage of the sport in the province. Should you have any queries or suggestions, please email founder, Stephen Findlater, at firstname.lastname@example.org.